Thompson Dam

file601_2_3_4_5

Thompson Dam is a beautiful wooded preserve and reservoir close to where we live. The road through it was once a state thoroughfare but is now used only by those who wander through the park. This means it does not have the ugly power and telephone poles that usually mar the beauty of most New England roads.

This is another post in the New England Autumn 2015 series. If you want to ‘Like’ the series, please do so here, at the first posting.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

file506_07_08_09_10

file521_2_3_4_5

file541_2_3_4_5

file561_2_3_4_5

file576_77_78_79_80

file606_07_08_09_10

file636_37_38_39_40

file646_47_48_49_50

file676_77_78_79_80

file691_2_3_4_5

file596_597_598_599_600

file716_17_18_19_20

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

19 thoughts on “Thompson Dam

    • Shhhhsssshhhhhh! The weather gods will hear you, and if you think that they are jealous, just wait for the time gods! 🙂

      Thank you so much for the lovely compliment! 🙂

    • Cindy, thank you so very much! You have been incredibly kind and supportive!

      I have done very little posting lately because of trying to complete a project for my masters…that is done now, the Holidays season almost over and I hope to be more diligent now! 🙂

    • Thank you! It is gorgeous…perhaps more so because of its transitory nature…it really just sarts and ends in a five week period. 😦

      But it is all relative. Come January I will be wishing for the Gulf coast, or the dry beauty of the desert, or maybe the lush growth of the delta. Texas is a big and beautiful place, too, and I wish I knew it better! 🙂

    • Thank you! We are enjoying this time of the year. And this year it is especially vivid so even better than is typical! 🙂

    • Absolutely! Not only was it intense it lasted longer than usual..no high winds or snow fall to drag the leaves off the trees. Even the oaks, which are usually a muted color got into the act! 🙂

  1. John, I shake my head … a bit … trying to grasp how absolutely beautiful these images are. Incredible. I think I have already mentioned this to you, but I’m not sure: the colors here in the mountains of Colorado are extremely limited. So, to see these transcendent colors of your trees is such a treat. Thanks for this post / these pictures. Have fun.

    • Thank you, T! Actually, I did not know that the Colorado fall colors are limited. Wow! That makes what we get in New England even more special. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.