Lilies and poppies

 

img_00002

This previous Monday was the Memorial Day holiday in the US. I would like to say that I took advantage of the beautiful weather to be energetic and bold and roam my little part of the world in search of photos, but to be honest I stayed close to home and only managed to do a few set shots. Other than that, the only energetic thing Lyn and I did was watch Netflix.

Oh, and eat chocolate. One must never forget to eat chocolate when one is resting from a day of hard work. 🙂

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

img_00007

img_00004

img_00009

img_00005

img_00010

This last photo was pure happenstance. The previous photo was taken at the base of a window and while taking it, my camera strayed up to the stain glass work that is framed in the middle of the window. Hmmm, I thought, I like that!

img_00012

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

16 thoughts on “Lilies and poppies

    • OK, OK, OK!!!! You beat me, I give up and admit everything!! (Wow, you’re tough!) I was frustrated that I couldn’t see inside the poppy so I gently bent the folds back for those center shots. It’s a good thing I got them when I did…they are already almost gone. Such gorgeous plants, but they last such a short, short time. 🙂

    • God heavens! There REALLY IS someone in this world that can spell, “anemones”?!?! I’m very, very, VERY impressed! 🙂

      Netflix: Light fare. Nothing too deep or serious or gory. Poirot, Miss Marple, Midsomer Mystreies, Parenthood, Doc Martin…that sort of thing.

      • oh well, it’s the same name in French, so… no need to be impressed haha 😉

        Plenty of shows I’ve never heard of ! But I remember an old show about Miss Marple that was quite enjoyable 🙂

        • To us, watching TV should be a retreat from the world, a place to go to relax. So none of the shows we watch tend to ‘amp’ us up or that ‘we have to see the next episode’ to see what happens. I guess we are just getting old! 🙂

    • Thank you! And as to chocolate….I’ve told my wife that if ever she offers me chocolate and I don’t say yes, to unplug the machines. I’m gone. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.