Southern California 1 – Imperial Sand Dunes

IMG_7347

First of all, I would like to thank everyone who persisted through my recent User eXperience Design (UXD) course postings, created as a required portion of a course I was taking at Kent State University. Happy news! The course is complete and I got an ‘A’ in it, all while having a blast learning some very interesting things.

I have been promising for a while now to start showing images I took on a trip that Lyn and I took to Southern California with my sister and brother-in-law. It was a short (week only) trip, but it was packed full of adventure. In fact, this is the first of seven posts, although to avoid you having to wear out your finger I have allowed the “Like” button on only this, the first post. I do hope you enjoy them.

The Imperial Sand Dunes is a portion of the Algodones Dunes area managed by the California Bureau of Land Management and, as you can guess, it is the playground of something that rather defines the ‘south cali’ life-style and spirit: a little wild, a lot of fun and all outdoors. The group of riders we met there were typical of this and also, the friendliest and nicest group you’d ever want to meet. Then, once they had ridden off, we found ourselves in a beautiful and restful place to visit. The quiet of the area was stunning.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

IMG_7414

 

IMG_7338_39_40_41_42

IMG_7379

IMG_7323_4_5_6_7

IMG_7205

IMG_7305_6_7_8_9

IMG_7225

IMG_7270_1_2_3_4

IMG_7250_1_2_3_4

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

23 thoughts on “Southern California 1 – Imperial Sand Dunes

  1. Cool-Cool!! I really have not idea of how much fun that was … One the pictures shows the rear wheels of those “dune buggies” … Is that the right name? Anyway, those wheels look seriously Boss. Your photography is such a gift for so many of us….

    • Thank you! If ever I get back to the area I am going to try hard to get there for dawn or dusk…I think the light would be amazing, then!

    • Thank you dear! I’ll be dropping by your web site soon. It’s been far too long. I am looking forward to it immensely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

