UXD Reflective Journal-Week 7

IMG_3360_1_2_3_4

This post is required under User eXperience Design, Principles and Concepts; KSU course IAKM 60120. It’s intent is to write a short post about what stuck me most in the previous week.

The standing joke at my many-years-ago graduation was: “To think that six years ago I could not even spell engineer. Now I are one!”

This is the last week of the User Experience Design course and as I sit here writing this, I am amazed at how much I enjoyed learning just how little I knew. The concept of this idea is big: enhancing user satisfaction by improving the usability, accessibility, comprehensibility and pleasure provided in the interaction between the user and a product or service, by addressing every aspect of how it is perceived, used or managed.

But if the concept is big, so is the daunting challenge that here, at the end of the course, I face:

1) Transferring some of the knowledge and ideas I learned, to and with, my co-workers and management.

And, more importantly:

2) Moving some of the course ideas from a theoretical point to the practical by implementing at least some of them in my day-to-day work. Because it is clear that User Experience Design is not just a skill set, but, if it is to be implemented, it is the ability to foster some change in behavior and attitude in the workplace.

To be honest, I am not entirely sure how I am going to do this, but I intend to try. Because now—apparently—I are one.

Well, sort of, anyway. At least it is easier to spell than engineer!

Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I did writing it.

– j

The photo was taken at a retreat in New Hampshire. The room was lovingly decorated with may curios collected by the family over several generations and I was intensely drawn to how odd some where. Photograph and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

