UXD Reflective Journal-Week 6

ICantBreathe_sm

This post is required under User eXperience Design, Principles and Concepts; KSU course IAKM 60120. It’s intent is to write a short post about what stuck me most in the previous week.

I had to learn some humility this week. Typography and the knowledgeable use of fonts and layout in the creation of written content was not, I confess, something to which I had previously given a lot of thought.

Of course I knew, or at least understood, the basic idea: keep it simple, tasteful and readable; use no more than two contrasting fonts; the more ornate a font, the larger it should be; readable fonts can be basic sans serif (like the “ant” of “cant” in the photo above), or a serif font (the “ath” of “breathe”). The serifs—those slight projections finishing off the stroke of a letter—are presumed to help guide the eye along. (However, you will notice that this post is presented using a sans serif font…a more modern typeface…and I do not think it is unreadable.)

But it is much more complicated than that, of course. (I won’t go into any of the details, but go here for a summary on the Basic Rules of Good Typography,  if you are interested.) The point was made in this week’s course that what you produce to read (either on screen or on paper) represents you and your ideas and that the presentation can have as much impact on the conveyance of the message as the content itself.

In the next few years, as I enter and go through some major changes at work, I am going to be developing a lot of written and on screen content, and realizing that I have to take as much care in how I present this material, as to what it says, is humbling. But this is good. Anything that helps me get my ideas across more effectively, is, in the end, a win.

I like that!

Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I did writing it.

– j

The photo was a collage I made in 2014 to protest the terrible and tragic death of Eric Garner from an illegal chokehold by New York City police officers. The individual letters were photographed while walking around my hometown’s business district. Photograph and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

4 thoughts on “UXD Reflective Journal-Week 6

Leave a Reply

