What a difference a day makes – day 2

IMG_1782

This is the second post of two showing how variable the weather can be in New England, especially in the autumn. The first post is here.

These photos were taken on the day following, and at around the same time, as the previous post. The lake is just west of the small village of Killingly, CT, 1 to 2 miles (2 to 3 km) from the site of the previous day’s set.

By the way, the photo of the ducks taking off is not a crop from a larger photo, but the full photo itself. That was the effect of the mist that morning: super quiet when no carries were whizzing by, cool, eerie even. The panoramas may be the best ones I’ve done thus far.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

IMG_1780

IMG_1784

IMG_1782

IMG_1785_sml

IMG_1799

IMG_1800_sml

IMG_1805

IMG_1806_sml

IMG_1812

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

26 thoughts on “What a difference a day makes – day 2

  1. This morning when I got up, it was so gloomy outside… made me want to go back to bed. But then I thought… hey, why not going back to wordpress and see some beautiful winter pictures, maybe with a bit of snow and a blue sky.

    I’m definitively going back to bed .. just kidding, I will click to your other post and hope for the best ! 🙂

    • I have never found a situation, or faced an issue where the concept of going back to bed was not a good solution and an excellent idea. Sure, there may be good reasons to get out of it in the morning, but the very first thing to consider is this: if I stay a little while longer, will they still be there when I am ready? 🙂

      I want to apologize that I have not responded earlier. You may have noticed that I’ve also not posted in a while. I am trying to get a large project for my masters complete and it is taking up a lot of time. I have vowed not to post anything until that is done.

    • You are being very kind. Thank you! 🙂

      I want to apologize that I have not responded earlier. You may have noticed that I’ve also not posted in a while. I am trying to get a large project for my masters complete and it is taking up a lot of time. I have vowed not to post anything until that is done.

    • Totally correct! It lends such an atmosphere and a unique view of the world. 🙂

      I want to apologize that I have not responded earlier. You may have noticed that I’ve also not posted in a while. I am trying to get a large project for my masters complete and it is taking up a lot of time. I have vowed not to post anything until that is done.

    • Thank you so much! 🙂

      I want to apologize that I have not responded earlier. You may have noticed that I’ve also not posted in a while. I am trying to get a large project for my masters complete and it is taking up a lot of time. I have vowed not to post anything until that is done.

  2. So, so, wonderful images … After gazing into these places you brought to your blog, I thought, “I want to be there … ” You know, John, when I come to The Book of Bokeh, and when I want to leave a comment, I have a unique struggle to find the words I want … to express my surprise at how excellent your pictures are. I don’t think I get that struggle anywhere else. These are, as I said, wonderful. Oh, by the way, because I am so behind in visiting the blogs I follow, I just now read you latest post on The Book of Pain: “The Day Spaz Tried To Kill Me”. Comments were closed, and I wanted to tell you that I really like that piece. A powerful gift to many, your reflections on a good friend. Peace.

    • T, thank you so much. As always, your sincerity burns like a beacon in everything you write!

      I am not sure why, but it looks like after a certain time, comments are automatically closing on the Book of Pain. I am not sure what I can do about that but I will look into it. I guess it would also help if I wrote more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

