Scituate Art Festival

IMG_5543
Now in its 49th year, the Scituate Art Festival (somewhere along the line it got upgraded from a plain old, everyday ‘fair’) is held each year in the village of Scituate in Rhode Island. To be honest, Lyn and I generally avoid the event because the traffic snarl is a nightmare and the crowds thick, but this year a friend invited us and we decided to give it a go. The traffic was as difficult as we anticipated, the parking was horrendous and the crowds were certainly in abundance, but still, we had a lovely time and enjoyed it very much…assisted, as it was, by incredible sunshine.

This is another post in the New England Autumn 2015 series. If you want to ‘Like’ the series, please do so here, at the first posting.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

IMG_5460

IMG_5470_1_2_3_4

IMG_5475_6_7_8_9

IMG_5490

IMG_5491

IMG_5499_500_501_502_503

IMG_5514_5_6_7_8

IMG_5522

IMG_5524

IMG_5531

IMG_5532

IMG_5534

IMG_5535

IMG_5548

IMG_5553

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

13 thoughts on “Scituate Art Festival

  1. This posting was a real treat. Very nice job photographing the artwork, something I have never really succeeded at doing.

    • Bill, that was the one I got from about a half dozen tries! It wasn’t an easy proposition in that bright light. But still, a fun day… I am sorry that you are missing an absolutely fabulous autumn this year in New England. Our dry August and September have made (I think) for a particularly bright foliage.

    • There are two B&W (more or less) photos. One is of a drawing, but my guess is that you are referring to the textured globe/ball. That is one of my favorites too and to be honest, an incredibly lucky grab. I took it more by accident and very quickly, not giving it a lot of thought. When I saw it on my screen I was shocked at how interesting it had come out. Luck…never discount it! 🙂

    • Thank you! I have to say that those glass bottles fascinated me. I must have taken five or six shots of them and could have posted any of the photos. It was a neat place and we caught it at the perfect time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

