Manis family portraits

IMG_0298

A dear friend of mine, John Manis, was recently in Putnam to see his new and first grandchild, the darling bundle you see him holding in the photo above. While he was here, I offered to take shoot some portraits of him and his family.

Portraiture is one of the areas of photography I find incredibly intimidating, as it implies a contract—in my case, an emotional one, not a financial one, but still, a contract—with the person you are photographing. If you flub a shot of a beautiful sunset, who is there to know? But fail to capture something about the essence of the person who is sitting for you and you have failed your responsibility as a photographer. And yet, oddly, portraiture is the aspect of photography I am most drawn to, so it is something I am trying to learn to do better and well.

Doing portraits of John, his daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter, and then the next day with John and his son (sadly, circumstances did not allow everyone getting together on the same day) was a great joy and I hope I acquitted myself nobly. John and family say they are very happy with the results, and in the end, that is what is most important.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

IMG_0121

IMG_0177-Edit_pp

IMG_0191

IMG_0193

IMG_0223

IMG_0281

 

IMG_0343

IMG_0356

IMG_0377

IMG_0394

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

16 thoughts on “Manis family portraits

Leave a Reply

