Meeting places

IMG_1323_4_5

Recently, Lyn and I were at a meeting for the Bahá’í Faith. Having arrived early (a rarity for us!) I had some time to take some pictures of the beautiful building where we were gathering. Later, we dropped by a café for some cooling drinks before going to a movie (Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation; it was awesome) and again I took a few shots. Hence the title of this post, as all the photos were taken at meeting places.

As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does all the heavy lifting in selecting the photos. And thank you sincerely for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I would also like to invite you to visit my Book of Pain  poetry blog.

IMG_1211_2_3

IMG_1214_5_6

IMG_1226_7_8

IMG_1232_3_4

IMG_1235_6_7

IMG_1259_60_61

IMG_1280_1_2

IMG_1304_5_6

IMG_1307_8_9

IMG_1316_7_8

IMG_1383_4_5

IMG_1392_3_4

IMG_1443_4_5

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

25 thoughts on “Meeting places

    • We are pattern solving, symmetry seeking engines, for sure. Those light patterns are what first grabbed me by the scuff of the neck, smacked me in the back of the head and none-too-kindly said, “Don’t you think it is time that you went and got your camera?” 🙂

    • Thank you! And those are the exact elements that forced me to get the camera out and see if I can re-capture the things I was seeing. 🙂

      • I know the feeling John. 🙂 There are times when the angle is prefect and all the elements are present, except for my camera. God! I regret it so much. But in photography once a moment is gone I don’t think it comes back in the same exact manner. And, if it does, then you are lucky. 🙂

    • First off: let me apologize for the late response, but I have been very busy. 😦

      That is very kind and sweet of you! I have been to that building many, many times but it was that shot with the angled shadows and vertical building lines that triggered two of my ‘pulls’ and made me look for my camera: 1) follow the light and 2) look for patterns. In fact, when put together, ‘patterns of light’ are stronger for me than metal to a magnet! 🙂

        • ░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░░░░░░
          ░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█░░░░░░░░
          ░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█░░░░░░░░
          ░░░░░░░░░░█░░░█░░░░░░░░
          ░░░░░░░░░█░░░░█░░░░░░░░
          ███████▄▄█░░░░░██████▄░░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
          ▓▓▓▓▓▓█████░░░░░░░░░█░░
          ██████▀░░░░▀▀██████▀░░░░

          🙂

    • First off: sorry for the late response but I have been very busy. 😦 Second off, thank you so very, very much! Only a photographer as good as yourself knows the reality of how important the post-processing is to a photo. I have been trying to develop both an identifiable personal style but one that stays natural looking and comfortable. Your compliment really makes me feel great! 🙂

    • Cindy, sorry for the late response but I have been very busy. Thank you so much! I have been to that building for dozens of meetings over the years and have always loved it. But it never quite caught my eye as it did until that time. Life’s funny that way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

