New York City walk 2

IMG_0271

Grand Central Terminal is not only one of the main bus/train/subway hubs for New York City, it is one of the most iconic buildings in Manhattan, being both beautifully built and wonderfully maintained. It is also always, always  busy. When you get there, be sure to check out the chocolate malts at the Shake Shack. 🙂

This is the second of two posts relating to a day spent taking pictures in New York City. The first post is here.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_0239

This next photo was taken in Washington Square, a large park that lies between New York University and Greenwich Village. Someone had kindly taken the time to write out the first Amendment to the American Constitution on the walkway. It’s that sort of place…

IMG_0371_2_3

More photos from Chinatown:

IMG_0403

The second obligatory selfie from that day:

IMG_0437

IMG_0460

Note the snake skin banjo head!

IMG_0477

IMG_0516_7_8

IMG_0531

A new way to see the city, rentable bicycles:

IMG_0540_1_2

Brooklyn Bridge has a dedicated bicycle lane, which, in true New York fashion, is often disregarded by pedestrians…an act to which, in true New York fashion, you can hear a typical catcall of, “Earth calling pedestrian! Out of the way, pedestrian!”

IMG_0563

IMG_0587_8_9

Ground Zero at the World Trade Center:

IMG_0605_6_7

IMG_0641_2_3
All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

17 thoughts on “New York City walk 2

  1. Great study of the city. I have been in New York only once – not the best memories. I love the city and look forward to catching a glimpse when I change flights in August.

  2. I love the Grand Central Terminal’s ceiling. I’ve seen it in films, but I was so impressed when I saw it with my own eyes ! The rambutans in China town look delicious, I love these fruits ! I should try to look for some in Leeds Chinatown, this post gave me an idea ! 😀

    • Now I’m jealous. I wanted to buy some rambutans but had no idea what to do with them or how to eat them!

      Leeds has a Chinatown?!?! You have got to start exploring and posting lots more pictures. I thought that after the Who played there they packed it all up and put it away in a cupboard somewhere. :-O

      How did your HDR experiments turn out?

      • It’s like hairy lychee. so you eat them like lychee. They are a bit more sugary and tasteful.

        Well, it’s not really a proper chinatown, but it has some Thai and Chinese supermarkets where I can find nice things 🙂

        Haven’t tried it yet… 😦 I know.. I know… 😉

Leave a Reply

