New York City walk 1

IMG_0344_5_6

Café Reggio is in Greenwich Village and is where I always go for breakfast whenever I visit New York City for the day. It is a place that simply reeks of atmosphere—several scenes from The Godfather were filmed there, for example—and it has delicious coffee and food. It was a great start to a great day of urban photography in the greatest city in the world. It was such a good time that I have  since forgiven Dave Deuel (my good friend with whom I travelled that day) the blister I got as he forced me to walk over seven miles throughout lower Manhattan.

There is one other post from this day, if you are interested.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

This next photo was actually taken at Union Station in New London, as I was waiting for Dave to pick me up:

IMG_0261_2_3

Being trés, trés cool at New York University:

IMG_0402

Columbus Square, at the edge of Chinatown, is where many elderly Chinese people hang out, mainly to play games and mostly for fun, although some of it is for gambling.

IMG_0422

IMG_0439

Some, however, come merely for the companionship and ambiance…

IMG_0474

IMG_0494_5_6

The obligatory window selfie:

IMG_0519_20_21

IMG_0535

IMG_0554_5_6

The venerable (and very crowded) Brooklyn Bridge:

IMG_0575_6_7

The World Trade Center complex is nearing completion of its reconstruction:

IMG_0593_4_5

IMG_0638_39_40

IMG_0662_3_4

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

22 thoughts on “New York City walk 1

  1. Magnificent photos John!!!!!! Love the perspective of The World Trade Center & the way it seems to disappear into the clouds, and you captured the Brooklyn Bridge perfectly!!!!! One man’s blister results in another man’s treasure. (feel free to quote me … HaHaHa!!!!!)

    • Linda, thank you so very much! I will not just quote you but beat David about the head with it, although, to be honest, he got a nicer picture of the Brooklyn Bridge…another reason to beat him about the head. 🙂

    • I play it by ear and its tricky. My first rule is to not disturb or bother people. I hold up the camera and if they look at me I ask if I can take their picture. If they don’t look quizzical or bothered I just start taking pictures. My basic theory is that if you are in a public location I feel I have the right to attempt taking your picture. If the subject is clearly upset or indicates that i should stop, I stop. Very few do. If they’re not looking and I get the shot (see the girl in the doorway of NYU) that’s what urban photography is about… but generally I prefer that they know what I am doing. What do you think? Am I being rude or fair? I’d really like others’ opinions.

Leave a Reply

