Panoramas

 

IMG_0057

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

This last week I spent some time at a local park testing and comparing lens. The picture that leads this post and the first two panoramas below are from this session. The first panorama was madeย using a 24mm lens, the second using a 50mm lens. (The 50mm lens, which gets closer to the subject, needs more photos to cover the same spread of the horizon, and is therefore wider and more flattened.)

The last panorama of New London, Connecticut was taken just after sunset some time ago. It wasย taken from the other side of the Thames River in Groton.

Click on any of the panoramas to get a larger image. Depending on your browser, you may be able to click on that enlarged image to see it full size.

IMG_0060 sm

IMG_0138 sm

New London sm

All photographs and comments ยฉJohn Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

38 thoughts on “Panoramas

    • Thank you! That 50mm is interesting, isn’t it?! A friend says that it looks like a sound wave, but to me it is more like some type of Mandelbrot. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, they were fun to put together.

      • It seems your camera would have been bored of the macros so now they are asking you to take panoramas. They all are wonderful. I can’t wait to see another post on the panoramas. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Thank you so very much! As to being bored with macros, no…but I do confess to being a bit taken with panoramas. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Here’s one I won’t publish elsewhere because I screwed something up, which is a real shame as it is a stunning photo (he says humbly) other than that…that jetty should appear straight and is instead curved.

          • Thanks for sharing the photo exclusively with me. ๐Ÿ™‚ The moment I read “because I screwed something up”, I saw the photo and guessed it wasn’t a straight line. After reading the other half – I was right.
            That’s o.k. I had taken a few panorama for fun and the power cable became a curve. I find taking panoramas from mobile is easier than cameras. Anyhow, I still like this photo. If you don’t say someone might think that it was taken from a different angle. The sky line is glorious. ๐Ÿ™‚

            • I am finding that much of the quality of the panorama is based on the length of the lens used. For a truly exact panorama you have to use a special camera mount that gets the camera revolving around its ‘no-parallax’ point, but that’s tricky. Thus far I think that a 24mm lens (for an APC-S camera) is the easiest to get good results from.

              And yes, that skyline was something, huh?!? I was VERY, VERY lucky that day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That is a wonderful compliment and I thank you very much for stopping by the Book of Bokeh and taking the time to write such a nice compliment. Come back, please. Often! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! The smaller lake scene is made from 3 photos, he larger lake scene from 7 or 8, I think. The New London one was further back but I am guessing 7.

      I used the Microsoft Image Composite Editor (MICE) a free program you can download here. The price is right and it does a great job! I highly recommend it.

        • I have the new Lightroom but have yet to use that feature. The Microsoft product is just so quick and neat and has many projection mappings that I just go back to it automatically. Have you used the new LR panorama feature? Personally, I’d have preferred if they had put photo stacking focus points, rather than having to use Photoshop, but that’s just me. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Yes, it works like a charm of you plan your panorama slots well. Auto pilot, nothing much there which you can configure or fine tune except specifying the type of panorama scene which you have shot. You get a raw panorama file as output and that’s the great thing about it, gives you tremendous flexibility in post processing.

            • I’m actually thinking of buying a panorama head…one which eliminates parallax distortion by rotating the lens around its nodal point. Have you any experience with using one? If I get that head I may also upgrade to Autopano. The beauty there is to be able to de-ghost an image so that if you are taking a series of shots and some moves in the two frames you can slice one of their images out. Maybe, it all depends on what I can get the panoramic head for.

              • hi john,
                me too. have a look at the following informative article. i am thinking of getting the same set-up. although having the panohead set-up would be ideal, in situations where you do not have foreground elements, it does not really matter if you plan your shots well.
                ken

                • Ken, you are *the* man! I have been trying to find a good article that describes how these darn heads work. The ones I have seen looked like they were all designed by a Chernobyl squirrel on crack. I couldn’t figure out what parts went where. After that article now I realize that the more complete ones allow for horizontal panning, but then, also, I think, vertical panning so that you can do one horizontal row, rotate your camera up 25 degrees and then do another row. Or just do a set of photos in the vertical direction, if, say, you were trying to do the World Trade Center or the apse of a cathedral.

                  I started looking at the Nano Ninja 3 and also at the Sunwayfoto equipment choices. But it is hard to differentiate between their many products. How do the ‘i’, ‘N’ and ‘Ni’ pano heads of the same number differentiate themselves? There are also a lot of bars of various lengths and I am not sure what to get to work with my 70D. I think a longer one for the 11-16 wide angle, but I also love using my teeny tiny new Canon 24mm prime.

                  Now that I have a better idea of what is going on I think if I go the Sunwayfoto route, it will be easier to add the components at a later time to also allow vertical panning.

                  In any event, that article was a real eye opener and I want to thank you for it! ๐Ÿ™‚

                  • no worries, john. glad to share and to know it steered you in the right direction away from the chernobyl route! from my current research, i think the sunwayphoto range of pano heads and plates is one of the most comprehensive in the market, pretty good quality and reasonably priced. i am inclined to put my $$$ on them. their product description and naming convention is all too confusing for me. also i need to establish what additional accessories (mounting plates/clamps) i need to make it work with my fuji/velbon tripod. i am writing to them to clarify things. hope they can assist. wishing you and yours a good weekend.
                    ken

Leave a Reply

