Monochrome photos challenge – day 4

IMG_0130BW

IMG_0137BW

Thank you to Norma at Emovere and Virginie at Darwin on the Rocks for passing the Five Day Monochrome Photos Challenge on to me. Today I get to show you how indecisive I am by posting two pictures, because I could simply not decide between them. Both were taken in Newport, RI, at stately homes which at the turn of the 19th century belonged to the uber-rich and famous, but which are now tourist attractions for the unknown and ‘lower classes.’ Times they do change…

In choosing which photos to make over into monochrome, I tried to select those which either suggest a story or seem to capture a strong unique moment in time. In any event, I hope you enjoy them.

Today I am passing the challenge on to an incredibly gifted and creative artist of many talents, Heidi of Wild Call of the Soul. Her photography, especially, is at once incredibly strong and bold, yet intimately close and personal at the same time.

I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Photograph and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

16 thoughts on “Monochrome photos challenge – day 4

    • Exactly and exactly! I was like the donkey who was starving to death standing between a bin of oats and a bin of barley, unable to make up his mind on which he wanted most. Finally I gave up and ate from both bins. 🙂

      You did notice the challenge, didn’t you?! 🙂

      • See, now, those words conjure up an image of a greedy ass, which is nowhere near what I’d imagine your sharing of these images to be –quite the opposite! Ha! And yes, I noticed the challenge and humbly accept. 🙂

        • Not so much greedy, I think, as indecisive. I find in life the big questions easy to answer… it’s the little ones like what pattern of china to buy, or what color to paint that wall that boggle me. So looking forward to your b&w images! 🙂

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! In fact, at one point there were 3 images from Newport in the running. The third was a small statue of either a peasant or Bacchus himself holding grapes and being very, very ‘happy.’ I did not include it because it was in portrait orientation and I thought threw off the post. In fact, here it is:

Leave a Reply

