Monochrome photos challenge – day 1

praying

Thank you to Norma at Emovere  and Virginie at Darwin on the Rocks  for passing the Five Day Monochrome Photos Challenge on to me. On this first day I have chosen a photo of my father praying.

In choosing which photos to make over into monochrome, I tried to select those which either suggest a story or seem to capture a strong, unique moment. In any event, I hope you enjoy them.

Today I challenge Ted, a new friend and exceptional photographer from a local photography club; his blog is TPJPhoto.

I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Photograph and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

31 thoughts on “Monochrome photos challenge – day 1

  1. I knew you would choose some awesome pictures for this challenge !!! 🙂 I really like this one. Nice angle. Sometimes, details tell more about someone than a full frame shot. Well done !

    • So you’re a Rod Stewart fan, eh? From his ‘quality’ period too…smart! Thank you so much, dear. I debated saving this for the last as it may be the best photo I have ever, or will ever, take. But then I thought, “Lead with your best and start with a bang.” Believe me, it is all down hill from here! 🙂

    • Thank you! You know…I just realized that you are a deeply insightful and brilliant critic of photography! 🙂

      Come back often! 🙂

    • T, he is a wonderful father and an incredible inspiration. That shot always humbles me. My sister did me the honor of having it on her wall. 🙂

  2. Black and white pictures are my favorite kind of photography . When I see monochrome photos I feel immediately that the time has stopped , and this is gives to the picture a brand new aspect !
    And I find this picture so artistic and meaningful …

    • Thank you so very much! That is wonderfully kind of you. This was a lucky shot, certainly. I am humbled by it every time I see it! 🙂

    • Thank you, Cindy. I wish I could say that this was a planned shot, but I took it almost accidentally and when I saw it a few weeks later was blown away that I could take as good a picture as this. Sheer luck, don’t discredit it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

