Cabin fever – food macros

stack_0604

The first three weeks of March is the period of the Bahá’í fast. During this time we do not eat or drink between sunrise and sunset. So, of course, food (as well as staying indoors) is much on my mind! I discovered that you never know what you’ll find when you raid the fridge and cupboards a time or two!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

stack_0578

stac_0483

stack_0563

Kiwi fruit, naturally lit and then lit from behind:

stack_0838

stac_0501

The venerable broccoli!

stack_0511

stack_0539

stack_0551

stack_0619

Leftovers!

stack_0633

stack_0666

My favorite, cilantro.

stack_0685

stack_0699

stack_0730

stack_0742

Turkish figs…

stack_0759

stack_0764

Dates…

stack_0777

The elixir of life. Decaffeinated.

stack_0828

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

45 thoughts on “Cabin fever – food macros

    • Thank you! I had a real ball putting those together. And just so you know…no food was wasted, believe me! 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 I am happy to report that most, if not all, of the subjects found a happy ending fulfilling their destiny with great gusto and flavor!

    • Thank you so much! As do I! Unfortunately, I have felt that way for a month now and the weather is just not co-operating! (We had snow Saturday morning…about 1 inch, although it did melt and go away by sundown. Still…)

      On the other hand, I am committed to enjoying the real spring and summer that much more now. 🙂

        • Was it as bad a winter in Europe this year too? I know that last year was bitterly cold and snowy. Until the 3rd week of January we were having a great and mild winter. Then ‘Bam!’ and the snow started and did not stop until the first week of March! In that short period we set snowfall records, and not just for that period, but for the whole winter season!

          Look forward to today’s post. You’ll like it! 🙂

          • Here in Munich last winter wasn’t too cold, and we practically didnt have snow! But this winter we had lots of snow for weeks and some days were pretty cold, around -17 or so. But now spring is starting to show… I hope it doesnt snow in April hahaha… sometimes it happens! 😀

    • I’m sure it is, but as much as I like to think that the world is my friend, WordPress has more reach!

      I had wondered if TPJ was also Ted Jennings, because of the coyote pictures. Now I know! I look forward to meeting you on one of those rare meetups I actually get to! 🙂

      • Yes, it’s just me. My infamous typos and roaming apostrophe might have given me away too. I’ve never been to a meetup, might come to the Hartford skyline though. Nice to ‘talk’.

        • I’m the worst offender at meetups! At the last minute I can’t show up for those I said I was going to go to and at other times discover that I can do those I did not commit to. 🙂 Life is funny that way. 🙂

  1. Very interesting details. I don’t know why, but I’m always attracted to the kiwi when it comes to fruits macrophotography. It must be the difference in textures and colours that attracts me. I’ve never seen a close up of a broccoli before, how interesting !

    • I think what surprised me the most were the raspberries. I had not realized there was that much texture and structure to them. And it was the red cabbage that kicked the whole concept off! 🙂

    • Actually, I have it on very good authority that you get healthier even for just looking at the photos! ◔_◔

      (OK, so that is an exaggeration, but you can get happier looking at them! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

