Cabin fever – flower macros

img_006

In what we hope was Winter’s last kick at the cat that came back (different version), we recently had three snowfalls in four days. As a result, “When will spring finally  get here?!?!” is on everyone’s minds and lips! In any event, being too fearful to go outside I got to thinking of doing some indoor macro shooting, and spring—being on my mind—made me think of flowers, which are always beautiful.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

img_001

img_002

img_003

img_004

img_005

img_007

img_008

 

img_010

img_011

img_012

img_016

img_017

img_018

img_019

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner

30 thoughts on “Cabin fever – flower macros

  1. I like these photos a lot. My fave is the little tiny flower in the center of the daffodil flower. It makes me need to look at my own daffodils to see if I can spot that wee thing myself.

    • Thank you so very much for such a kind compliment and visiting the Book of Bokeh! 🙂 I am excited to report that our daffodils are about 2 inch green shoots above the ground! A wonderful sign that I think announces that spring finally has arrived!

    • Wait until you also see Cabin fever – food and Cabon fever – things. I am so over this winter and am so looking forward to spring! 🙂

        • Winter is like a good, deep breath. Wonderful going in, but better going out!

          I wish I could say that that was original, but it is actually a Persian saying that was originally coined on the topic of ‘guests’ and not ‘winter.’ 🙂 Still, originality is, as they say, undetected plagiarism! 🙂

  2. Picture #12 is the pinnacle of this series, according to me. You cut at the right place, we can still see the green the center, but all the petals at the same time. The proportion is great, so pleasant to the eye. It could be my desktop wallpaper.

    • Thank you! The details were from the fact that each is a picture ‘stack’. I take many photos with slightly different focus points and then combine the sharpest of each via software. It makes for some amazing photography! 🙂

    • So does every other breathing life form on the east coast from Washington DC to Bangor, Maine! 🙂 Thank you…in fact this last week has seen us lose several feet of snow. Now if I could see something besides our frustration growing, that would be nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

