Crotched Mountain skiing

P1010627

Crotched Mountain is a small, family oriented ski hill in New Hampshire that Lyn and I visited a while back. The day was cold, sunny and with no wind…perfect, in other words, for skiing! Kids love Crotched Mountain because there are several terrain parks where they can practice small jumps or sliding over flats or rails.. What’s more, there is also a big inflated air bag where they can safely practice their wild and crazy aerial tricks without having to worry about sticking the landing. However, catching that sort of action is hard because they move fast. I have about 10 pictures of just blue sky, 30 pictures of skis entering or just leaving the frame, and about 20 more where they are perfectly framed…of which one or two are somewhat in focus. Who said, Practice! Practice! Practice!? (Oh, yeah, right…that was me.)

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

upThe official definition of the word, “chillin'”…waiting for the next jumper.

P1010563

P1010591

P1010605

P1010609

P1010615_16

More future Olympic stars…

P1010561

P1010632

The obligatory selfie in the coolest ski goggles ever made!

P1010645

P1010659

P1010670

It can get real crowded  in some places and you have to be very careful of the newbies who may not be able to control themselves. And the arrogant, who just don’t care!

P1010671

At the end of the day, some kids just like to do a bit of sliding on their shiny snow clothes!

P1010736

P1010743

P1010753

And then it’s time…

P1010747

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

20 thoughts on “Crotched Mountain skiing

  1. John, a great set of images and ones which made me smile so thank you for that too. Am in catch up mode as have been busy elsewhere so will be checking out more of your special work this weekend. Take care.

    • Chris, so good to hear from you. And thank you for such a lovely comment! 🙂 I’ve missed dropping by Spartan Eye too, I promise I will be much more diligent.

      In fact, this week my blog will try to do a Spartan Eye imitation…I am taking on a five day monochrome challenge…let me know what you think, please! 🙂

  2. I feel pretty stoked after these incredible pictures! In fact, do you know what they call that “thing” when a snow skier goes cruising down a ramp without poles and then the skier goes flying up into the air, and he lands with one knee in front of the other? I’ve always wanted to do that. If I do it, it’s because you convinced me. Later. T

    • T, I think that sport is simply called ‘ski jumping’ and considering that these people go over 200 m (that’s two football fields! although at that length it is also called ‘ski flying’) they are one tough bunch of people!

      As to trying it? Don’t. Please.

      Your family and I will thank you for it. 🙂

  3. Love your ski glasses, and those shots of those kids airborne, HOLY COW!!! How do they do what they do and how you caught them in action is a WOW from me! Great post all the way around, wishing my skiing days were still with me. LOVED LOVED LOVED this!! Your last photo of the moon just blew me right out of the Universe. 😀

    • Sorry, that’s not me and those aren’t my goggles…I wish they were. That’s me in their reflection. They were on one of the guys working at the balloon jump and I told him I had to have a shot of them because they were so colorful!

      That last moon shot was by hand at 300mm and taken on a, “No way this will work!” whimsy and it did, sort of. (I wish I had a filter and a tripod…it would have been sharper.)

      And anyone at anytime can ski! Take a lesson, start slow and stick to the easy greens! You’re never too old for skiing. 🙂

      • See what happens when we do something we don’t think we can and then we produce something that has us saying WOW? That moon was a wow! Apologies for reading your post wrong …. oops. And as for ski-ing, I’ll think about it. I used to love cross country skiing. Life happened and it sort of got away from me. Darn.

  4. Great action captures. John. The future Olympic star shots, Wow!!! Love the moon image.
    Your fabulous ski photos reminded me the fun times we had in Colorado. 🙂

    • Thank you! I should have done better with the focusing but I only had a few minutes, it was cold and just figuring out where to stand was an issue. 🙂 I’ll do better next time having learned from this one. Those kids are brave, though, huh?! Even with the bag…

Leave a Reply

