Old Sturbridge Village – winter sleighs

 

 

IMG_7964

Old Sturbridge Village is a living museum of what life was like in the 1830’s in New England. The buildings are authentic, the actors well trained and the craftsmen and farmers pursue their seasonal tasks exactly as they would have performed them in that time period.

Each winter, Old Sturbridge Village hosts a day when antique sleighs from all over the region can come and participate in a rally of sorts. This year was special as the winter was cooperative for a change: there was plenty of snow and the temperatures—although cold—were, after all, seasonal!

There are four posts in this Old Sturbridge Village – winter series: this one and numbers two, three and four. The ‘Like’ button is turned on for this first post only. That way, if you do not want to bother with the others, you need not feel compelled to do so.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_8000

IMG_8016

IMG_8018

IMG_8022

IMG_8030

IMG_8135

IMG_8137

IMG_8143

IMG_8146

IMG_8149

IMG_8173

IMG_8177

IMG_8182

IMG_8144

IMG_8185

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

29 thoughts on “Old Sturbridge Village – winter sleighs

    • It was an awesome day and I was clearly very, very lucky. I am not much for cold weather but I had a lot of fun with these. The day was clearly magical and some of that magic kindly sneaked into the shots! 🙂

  1. Gorgeous photographs, John!!! Just wow. These horses are absolutely gorgeous as well. Your images need to be framed …. as I say with nostalgia. Beautiful post! Love, Amy

    • Thank you, dear! This first post is all about the horses, but the next few are general ones from around the complex…and I think you’ll like those even more. I’m not sure that I’d be getting around to getting them framed, personally, but I sure had fun taking them and enjoy looking back on them. In fact, I tend to have this notion that anyone else’s photos are much better than mine…it’s something I have to get beyond, but to me, I’m always learning and looking at my work and thinking, “Why do I have to keep re-learning from that same mistake?!” 🙂

      • Oh, John, IF you knew how many mistakes I made while at Niagara Falls, you would cry with me. Too many. I was too darn nervous. Buying a new tripod and head, I hope to perhaps return to put into action the “mistakes” so that I now take the images the way I had intended to. Always, learning ….

          • Me? I fly by the seat of my pants. You give me techo this or techo that and my eyes cross. Hehehehehehe I just LOVE to create and most of the time I have no idea what I am doing. LOL You yes FUN, except for this Niagara Falls shoot. That was STRESS!!! *wiping sweat off of brow*

              • John, the post that is coming today will explain just how far I fell into despair when about 1/3 of my images were filled with red noise and movement. And I stated my theory as to why. But I honestly was ready to quit, just being so exhausted from all this behind the scenes work as only a photographer can understand. Words like yours and many others, when I read them yesterday, ignited a flame within me, to save these images, to do everything I could to recreate beauty. I did. On some of the images that will be posted today, you can still see the “red pigmented noise”. Lesson >>> The next time I shoot at Niagara Falls I will be using a HIGH shutter speed. So, this post today will show how mistakes can be saved. Then I have one post of hubby’s shots (6 images) , finishing up with glacier macro, closeups of the American Falls. This was one BIG project, and throughout it, many lessons came to the surface for me to apply in my future shoots. I look forward to getting back to blogging as per usual when Niagara Falls series is finished. I’m pouring myself into what I am doing now, take my word for it. More amazement will be coming ….. (SMILE) Love, Amy

    • Actually, I didn’t have a ride. The photo that starts off the set is a sleigh that does a small circuit around the village green and anyone can ride it, but I did not go on it, and right now I can’t tell you why, except maybe it was really cold to just be sitting down. The horses were big but very gentle and actually more shy of me with the camera than me of them. To get those close ups I took many warm up shots, each time getting a little closer so that I would not scare them. Being used in a public place, I knew that they were trained to be restrained, but it never hurts to be cautious! 🙂

    • Thank you so very much! In the 1830’s people actually looked forward to the snow because travelling by sleigh was smoother and faster than rolling on rutted roads with big wooden wheels. And that despite the fact that the only snow moving machine was a man with a shovel. Those people were tough folk…that I know! 🙂 Tougher than I am! 🙂 🙂

    • Cindy, you are always so kind! Isn’t it interesting how we find beauty in the opposite nature of our environments? … the cold and whiteness of New England balanced by the warmth and color of the Holler. 🙂

Leave a Reply

