Stahm’s Khawmin’!

IMG_7896

This year, Boston (the largest city in the northeast of the United States) has received ten times the average amount of snow in February that it normally gets. And that  when February is only two thirds over!

In proof of that, I would like to introduce you to storm Neptune, which started in the early afternoon of St. Valentine’s Day and ended late the next day. These pictures were taken at the start, during, after the snow ended (when the wind remained high), during the cleanup and afterwards when calm reigned. The last shot was taken early the third morning on the way to work.

This is the month that anyone in this part of the world could say, “Stahm’s khawmin’!” (“Storm’s coming!” in the New England accent) and they’d be considered a weather genius—at least thus far. Here’s hoping for a change soon!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_7824

IMG_7833

IMG_7839

IMG_7842

IMG_7850

IMG_7875

IMG_7880

IMG_7881

IMG_7902

IMG_7903

IMG_7870

IMG_7857

IMG_7860

IMG_7889

Tibetan prayer flags are meant to be hung outdoors so that each thread is slowly torn away by the wind and their hopes spread across the land.

IMG_7909

IMG_7910

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

25 thoughts on “Stahm’s Khawmin’!

    • No, that’s not me, that’s my neighbor who, in fact, had already finished his walk and was game enough to give it another go for me to capture some pictures! 🙂 I look at it this way: it’s winter, it’s New England, it’s my home…put another log on the fire. Another couple of weeks and then we’ll have a spring that I will love and cherish because of the journey to it! 🙂

    • Norma, thank you so much! And I promise I will take up the challenge, but I have to confess it will not be right away! I just finished one such challenge on Facebook and right now I have a ton of things in front of me at work and at home. In fact, being a member of the Baha’i Faith, we are just about to get into the Festival of Ayyam-i-Ha, a four day period of celebration that is sort of, kind of, like our Christmas period…and that alone is a busy period. But I will get to it, I promise! 🙂

      • Thanks for accepting the invite John. I understand the time keeps ticking and we sometimes hardly have the time to relax. So please don’t worry about the time. Have a wonderful time celebrating your festival. 🙂

    • I hear you!!! But spring is only a few more weeks away, and one thing about a harsh winter…it is always followed by a glorious, wonderful spring! And let’s face it, that’s always worth waiting for! 🙂

  1. John, we lived through last November what you are now living and I know the stress involved and the work in the cleanup. My Heart really goes out to you. Stay warm and stay safe. Pace yourself when outside …. please just be careful! Love, Amy

    • Well, it’s not like winter in New England is a surprise to us. Yankee pluck and all that! 🙂 Four, five more weeks and glorious spring will be here. Who wouldn’t put up with a little snow for that!? 🙂

    • Oh, I don’t mind it. And I love to ski and snowshoe. It’s winter and I live in New England, it’s not that I have Florida expectations. 🙂 The hassle is managing the cleanup with travel and work…that gets on your nerves, especially if you have to shovel after dark. And anyway, spring will be here in four or five weeks…winter doesn’t last forever! 🙂 🙂

    • Actually it is not that bad. It’s winter, it’s New England, it’ll end and we’ll have a glorious spring, summer and fall. The hard part is trying to squeeze the cleanup in with travelling to and from work and getting the cars up the driveway and into the garage until the whole thing is over. If I could get home easily on Friday, it can snow from then until Sunday afternoon for all I care. As long as I can get it shoveled before sundown, I’m happy! 🙂

  2. Incredible! I love the cottage with the red door and the last shot with the sun shining. It is beautiful, but it must be daunting and alarming. It is alarming here in So Cal. It is going onto two weeks in the low 80 degrees F. Unlike NOCal we are still in terrible drought. This weather irregularity is upsetting……

    • People at work are sick of me correcting them whenever the old trope of, “Whatever happened to global warming?” comes up and I correct them with, “It’s not called Global Warming, it’s called Climate Change, and the fact that the weather is swinging more violently warmer and hotter and dryer and wetter all over the map is the proof!” I sometimes wonder what happened…we were supposed to be the generation more in synch with nature, the love generation, and look at the world we are leaving our children and grandchildren!

  3. Unbelievable! I would not know how to deal with such a storm. The worst we ever got was 27 in in one day many years ago. At that time we had two teenagers at home and these was plenty of muscle to shovel. Now, only me and a tiny snowthrower. 🙂

    • 🙂 I too have lost my young muscular help. That’s the worst part of it…I don’t mind it snowing on Saturday or Sunday, because then I have time to clean it up. And snow is just winter and winter is just New England. It won’t last forever. It’s when it snows on a workday and I am trying to juggle getting it cleaned up and getting to and from work that is the pain. Other than that, to me, it’s, “Throw another log on the fire and make some more hot chocolate!” time.

Leave a Reply

