Practice! Practice! Practice!

IMG_7558

An old joke goes: a tourist is visiting New York City and is lost trying to find a famous theater for the performing arts called Carnegie Hall. So he stops an obvious New Yorker (you can tell them by their fast walk and by the fact that they aren’t gawking at the scenery) and asks, “Can you tell me how to get to Carnegie Hall?” The New Yorker quickly looks the tourist up and down and then growls, “Practice! Practice! Practice!”

Some of you may remember that some time back I tried my hand at photographing things to drink in Drinkables  with, to be generous, what could only be described as fair success. So, given the frigid temperatures outside, I decided to give it another go, and as the old joke goes I still need to  Practice! Practice! Practice! These are better, but not yet nearly as good as I want them. Still, I had a lot of fun doing them and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed my ginger ale, soda water and tea.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photos selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_7536

IMG_7545

IMG_7550

IMG_7553

IMG_7561

img_7573 7579 stacked

img_7583 7611 stacked

IMG_7616

IMG_7622

IMG_7625

img_7628 7638 stacked

img_7646 7657 stacked

IMG_7671

IMG_7681_a

img_7693 7700 stacked

IMG_7706

All photographs and comments ©John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

47 thoughts on “Practice! Practice! Practice!

  1. Wow! This is amazing. I wanted to try this in the past weeks too but I always forgot to buy sparkling water 😛 Really Inspiring especially the Glas with the Citrus!! Great work!

    • Thank you! To be honest, it is harder to set up and nail than you think! 🙂

      This was my second attempt and I want to make several others yet, to try and get it to where I see it in my mind’s eye.

      Good luck! I look forward to the results!! 🙂

    • Public Speaking 101: start with a good joke! And if you don’t have a good joke, start with a bad one about yourself. 🙂 And as to ‘practice’, ‘Learning’ is my middle name…

  2. The first glass looks like Canada Dry. My favourite softdrink EVER. I love to fly to the US because you can ask a ginger ale on the plane… 😉

    I love the middle set (tonic water ?), with the lemon slice. Some pictures are very abstract.

    I’m also curious about the cloudy effect in the last glass. What is that ? I can see that the density is different, it looks like a drinkable magma lamp 😀

    • It *is* Canada Dry…proof positive that all things Canadian are superior! 🙂 In the other pictures I used cub soda because it is so clear.

      The dark drink is tea and the cloudy stuff some cream dropped into it. I probably poured too much…something I will fix next time. I wanted to use coffee, but it was too dark. I’d of needed a powerful laser to light coffee from the back and make it see through! 🙂

        • I’ve thought about food coloring…dark red and blue dyes, but I wanted to overcome the backlight issue I was having. I have a new plan now…we’ll see. I think part of the trick is using a liquid slightly denser than water, but what that would be I have no idea, because it has to be water soluble and non-toxic and clear. I have a question out to a chemist friend. 🙂

          • I KNOW !!!

            clove oil !!!!!

            – A maximum solubility of 1.25 g/mL is obtained in water, at 20°C
            – It is clear, even if you can find different colours (colorless to dark brown)
            – It is safe ! It is used as a food additive
            – It is slightly denser than water (solutbility of 1.42 to 1.63)

            😀

            • Well, yes, except it’s $3.50/oz, which is, I think, a little over €100/l. I know photography is expensive, but still! 🙂

                • Od, surely not a liter, that was just a price indicator. But you do have to run tests and making a mistake is easy…plus needing several tries to get the best picture. I’ll try water first and then see. I juts love the concept of capturing ‘blood in the water.’ 🙂

    • Thank you! The fact that you probably never heard of it probably indicates how old I am…it was the sort of joke told by a 50’s era stand up comedian like Milton Beryl! 🙂

  3. Wow!!!! I never thought of using my macro lens on what you did here!! These are fascinating! I too LOVE my macro lens, getting great delight in finding small things. LOL Have a great weekend!!! Love, Amy

    • Thank you! I felt I had a lot more control this time and solved many issues that popped up the last. The only thing is that a whole bunch of new issues popped up in their stead! 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you! I agree, these are better. Not what I want yet, but I’m slowly learning how to pull these kinds of shots off! ! 🙂

    • Thank you, Cindy! A friend tells me that I like macros because small minds like small things. “Thanks!” I said, but now I’m getting to wondering… 🙂

Leave a Reply

