The barn

IMG_7435_6_7

This old barn is off to the side of the road just before you get to the Sunday River ski resort in Newry, Maine. I saw it when we were returning one night from dinner with friends in the nearby town of Bethel and knew that I had to get back to it before I left the area. Luckily I had time on the last day we were there!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.IMG_7452_3_4

IMG_7470_1_2

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

24 thoughts on “The barn

    • Thank you, T! It is a nice looking place isn’t it? There was something about it the instant I saw it, but no one can say exactly what. Interesting, huh?!

    • Gosh, wouldn’t that be an adventure?!?! To remodel an old barn as a living space? (The fact that it is a stone’s throw away from a premier ski resort would just sweeten the deal!) 🙂

      • John, I could not ski to save my life – I have very poor balance, oops there goes the coffee, but I could make a warm welcome to you and Mrs BoB, by a cosy fire, and warming drinks and delicious nibbles and conversation. There, our fairytale begins.

        • Wait a minute, there’s skiing and then there’s skiing. Downhill is a bit tricksy, until you get used to it or are buried, but Nordic skiing is very different…narrower skis and done on flat land, which typically for me means a golf course in winter. It’s sort of a step glide thing and a lot of fun and a GREAT workout. And believe me I am one of the many who buy earth toned (read that as ‘coffee and tea stained’) colored clothes so that I do not have to replace them as often! 🙂

          But as to tea by the fire…that gives me an idea for a photo….hmmm…Thanks! 🙂

  1. John – these are beautiful. The barn shot is really special. I can’t say exactly why I like it so much but it’s simply remarkable.

    • Dave, thank you! That’s sort of the same thing that hit me as I was driving by the night before. I knew it would make a beautiful shot, but I too cannot say why. Something to do with symmetry, I suspect. In any event, I went, I saw, I photographed and that’s good enough for me! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Yes, they are gorgeous, although the truth be said, the terrible, deep cold is also part of the experience, and sadly, not one I can capture on film. 🙂 But I joke too much, yes the scene was stunning and I was lucky to be there at such a perfect time. That morning it was cloudy and this sunshine came at just the right time for me to capture it. And then it was gone, 20 minutes later!

        • No, not really. I am still caught up in the ‘how do I do this thing better?’ mode. I am still learning my craft on a physical plane and there are so many things I do not know or half know and what to master…as I get better at that I’ll think more on the possibilities of what will happen and to understand or feel them. Besides, I trust that adventures are always around every corner. Haven’t you seen the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings movies? 🙂

    • That is a good point. To me, this is the quintessential barn shape and yet I do not know why that is, or when it started or why North American barns are often built that way. A more peaked roof would be better for the snow burden. On the other hand, these things are so big (and I think, generally much bigger than in Europe) that a fully peaked roof would be very high in the middle. Maybe that’s why they slanted that inside part lower. Just to save wood. New Englanders (who are also called ‘Yankees’) were famous for their ‘thriftiness’, although others called it ‘stinginess’ or even ‘miserly.’ 🙂

        • A friend is trying to puzzle out why the picture speaks to him so much. I’m not sure why, either. He thinks it has something to do with capturing digitally something from before the digital age that even in its decay is beautiful. Me I think it has to do with symmetry of space and color. What do you think?

          • I think it’s pleasant to the eyes. The barn stands out from the environment, due to the colours and the “vibrancy” (HDR shot ?). So it attracts the eye, it’s like a living texture. It’s iconic, it’s vintage, the shape is pleasant, the angles are not too harsh, it’s soft. All of these make a great combination for a perfect shot I think !

            • Excellent eye…yes it is HDR. In fact, the sunlight reflection off the front of the barn was so strong I had to tone it down…it looked like gold leaf had been applied! But I love your explanation and I think you nailed it exactly and eloquently. I’ll pass it off to Dave and see if he agrees. Thank you! 🙂

    • Cindy, thank you! Now don’t you regret all that sun and sand in that tropical paradise? In February, New England is THE PLACE to be! 🙂 (not)

Leave a Reply

