Bethel

IMG_7372_3_4_5_6

Bethel, Maine is an example of the picture perfect New England town: wide streets with big, stately Victorian-era homes still lovingly preserved. Moreover, I wanted to capture the town in its classical, New England winter setting: cold (and it was!) and snow in bright light with dark blue skies.

In fact, this sort of snowy scene, which is rare now, was the kind of snow that I grew up with as a child living in Newfoundland, Canada. It has its own sort of beauty, doesn’t it?

PS: as I post this today we are in the middle of yet another snow storm having just dug out of one yesterday. This I blame all on me for my bravado in publishing a post entitled Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!  To everyone in New England caught up in this on-going misery, I apologize. It won’t happen again.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_7299_300_301_302_303

IMG_7304_5_6_7_8

IMG_7314_5_6_7_8

IMG_7326

IMG_7333

IMG_7335

IMG_7340

IMG_7346_47_48_49_50

IMG_7352_3_4_5_6

IMG_7357_58_59_60_61

IMG_7382_3_4_5_6

IMG_7387_88_89_90_91

Notice the lady sitting and reading on her porch. New Englanders are tough!

IMG_7397

IMG_7402

IMG_7403

IMG_7404

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

21 thoughts on “Bethel

    • Thank you so very, very much! The funny thing was how lucky I was. It was cloudy that morning but we got to Bethel at just the right time for the sun to come out and just after they had cleaned up enough to get around, but before the snow became ‘dirty.’ A half hour after these shots, the opportunity was ended. That is good luck! 🙂 🙂

      • I’m so glad you had such good timing. I recently missed a opportunity to photograph fresh snow in Colorado. I was visiting family and didn’t take a single shot on what they call the “powder day.” Oh well, I had a great time anyway!

        • Ah, the Fates intervene again! But I am glad that you had a good time. And surely you managed to get some other shots in? I mean this is Colorado we are talking about…the garbage heaps look higher and nicer there!! 🙂

    • That is very sweet of you! I actually started that project with a Spartan Eye viewpoint to try and capture the image of any interesting person I found. But it was so cold that I met no one the entire time! Truth!!! 🙂 They were all indoors looking out through their windows wondering what the fool with the camera was up to and didn’t he know it was winter out there?!?!? Some people don’t even have the sense to come in when they ought to!

    • John……..the shots of Bethel are really beautiful and resonate with me very strongly, it was a magical few days wrapped around a blizzard. Steve

      • Steve, thank you so much! Since you have not just been to Bethel but were there AT THE VERY SAME TIME, your vote of support is especially appreciated. Especially since you are such a fine judge of great art! 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you very, very much! Well, yes, sort of, these pictures are of the START of a New England winter. Although this year harkens back to the ‘good old days’ in that they have a lot more snow now then when I took the pictures. Personally I think the ‘good old days’ were over-rated! 🙂

    • You know, I never thought of that! But wooden houses (generally in white) in bright cold snow is certainly Scandinavian! 🙂

    • Cindy, that is wonderfully kind and sweet of you! That day was perfect and I was incredibly lucky to get the shots I did. And it helps that the place is so scenic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

