Winter storm Juno

IMG_7487

While we were vacationing in Maine, our home was hit by winter storm Juno, the biggest storm of the season, running at about 30 inches (75cm). Thus far! The photo above is what we saw when we got home…notice how far the snow is up the Stop sign!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Thankfully, our neighbor had shoveled our front door so that the mail could keep getting delivered.

IMG_7485

IMG_7491

The traditional “before” and “after” images…

IMG_7490

IMG_7498
The snow was still falling, three days later!

IMG_7497

IMG_7496

IMG_7501

IMG_7502
I don’t think we will be sitting out on the patio any time soon!

IMG_7503

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

28 thoughts on “Winter storm Juno

  1. Juno carried quite a punch! Man! Hope your pipes didn’t freeze … But then again, there where you live, you guys know more about protecting your pipes than many other folks on the continent. Earlier comment by you, above on February 3rd about your snowblower … I didn’t know if you were joking or not. Mine is operating below standard efficiency. I still talk nicely to it, but maybe I should use your approach. Also, I realized that I am apparently not “following” your blog officially from the Other Side of the Trees! So, I will take care of that now. I like your house.

    • T, it turned out that Juno was only the opening salvo in the arrival of the motherstorm-in-law from hell. Since then we have had one big storm (another 12 inches) a few minor ones (less than an inch each time) but this weekend are looking forward to a three day snow event. Not a lot each day, but 2-6 inches per day can add up. Plus, at this point, for the areas I have to shovel, I got no place left to throw it…it’s as high as I can make it.

      Other than the season being the season, however, things are going very well and for all my complaining, the skiing is EXCELLENT. I just wish I could get there more often! 🙂

      As to snow blowers, my experience is that just like with a child, when they are acting up they only need a firm talking to and a good example. That and gas cleaner. That always helps, too! 🙂

      Stay warm, my brother! Stay warm! Spring is coming…

    • Yup! It’s falling now, another 10 to 14 inches. Oh well, it just makes the skiing spectacular, and there is nothing wrong with that! Ever! 🙂

    • Naming homes is a British tradition…it’s not something done in the US, which is a shame really, because there are a few choice names I’d like to call it sometimes. The house was built in the early 1900’s and the second floor is a mirror to the first floor. The same family occupied the house for all that time until we bought it (with different parts of the family moving upstairs and down and then back again) and now a dear friend lives upstairs. My standard joke is that the house is beautiful, but old. The only thing that works is the owners.

    • Well, we’re facing another 10 to 14 inches to day! But that is life in New England and it makes the skiing and snowshoeing great fun! 🙂

    • Thank you so very, very much! I have to confess that taking photos was fun, but also somewhat of a delay tactic so that I didn’t have to tackle the shoveling! 🙂 In the end it got done, but it was a lot of work! I have a set of pictures coming of Bethel, Maine which should also like. Victorian architecture and a snow, snow, snow! Probably in a week or so…

      • You are very welcome! I think Victorian architecture and snow are a great combo. I am sure the pics are fabulous! Can’t wait to see them! 🙂

    • That is so funny! We were in the Sierra Nevadas last year, at Lake Tahoe. The only snow we saw was man made on the slopes! We heard tales of 16 feet of snow in a winter, but not a flake by then and it was the end of January. Life is odd sometimes…

    • I do, don’t I!? That long photo of the green thing? Actually that is a candle holder…which reminds me of a photo I have to take in the spring! 🙂

Leave a Reply

