Sunday River 1

IMG_7244

Hey! Guess where we are…

Sunday River is one of the premiere ski resorts on the east coast of the United States. Lyn and I are here for the week at the same time as a massive snow blizzard named Juno is dropping many feet of snow on the entire eastern seaboard. In fact, the friend we have looking after our home reports that there is well over 4 feet (>1m) of snow in our driveway…so we have a lot of ‘happy’ work facing us when we get home!

In the meantime, here are a few photos of our adventure. More will be forthcoming at some date when I get a chance to review and process them, but I wanted to take this opportunity to get a few posted right away. They were taken during our snowshoeing adventure this morning. In the afternoon, we skied and yes it was as snowy and windy as it seems in the pictures, actually more so. In fact, when I took off my clothes afterwards, my inner jacket was covered in snow and there was even some inside my helmet! Plus it was cold, -9°F (-22°C) this morning, although it did get up to a comfy and warm 5°F (-15°C) in the afternoon. (?!)

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest spouse Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Here are Lyn and I in front of the main lodge at the ski hill:

IMG_7271

IMG_7249

Notice that I am using my handy dandy plastic camera rain cover to protect my camera…

IMG_7238

I told you it was snowy and windy!

IMG_7266

IMG_7277

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

11 thoughts on “Sunday River 1

    • Thank you so very much! And thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. I look forward to dropping by Elm Drive often! 🙂

  1. Cold!!! I would not want to ski in that horizontally driven snow. I’ve used the heating pads too, but nothing can keep the cold from your face! Brrrrrr. Have fun and stay warm~

    • Cold it was, but a lot of fun too! Someday I have to gather the courage to take my camera uphill with me so that I can capture people as they come screaming along or doing a jump. I think about it every time, but carrying a camera while skiing…that’s either brave or foolhardy. Probably both! 🙂

    • And gosh, yes, it was cold. I used heating pads on my toes (first time ever…they work great!) For my hands I used a light pair of gloves inside of a heavy skiing mitt and also with a heating pad. And still my thumbs, at least, got cold! 🙂

    • It was good for skiing, dry and fast. however it took two days for the slopes to get groomed so the runs were very choppy and sloppy for t let one full day. BY Thursday the skiing was INCREDIBLE!!!!

Leave a Reply

