New York City 2014 Holiday Season

IMG_5912

Every year, sometime between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day, Lyn (my dearest) and I head into New York City for the Holiday sights. This year the highlights were a holiday concert at the Cathedral of St John the Divine and viewing the inventive Holiday Season display windows at Bergdorf Goodman on 5th Avenue, close to Central Park. The pictures in this post were shot as we walked around the city.

Gosh, I love New York!

There are three posts for this New York City trip—this one, another for Bergdorf Goodman and the last for the concert. (They will each be posted a few days apart.) The ‘Like’ button is turned on for this first post only. That way, if you do not want to bother with the others, you need not feel compelled to do so.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_5824

IMG_5827

IMG_5832

IMG_5837

IMG_5888

IMG_5891

IMG_5892

IMG_5895

IMG_5896

We did not eat here. But I wanted to…

IMG_5897

IMG_5898

Crossing the street in New York City can be a battle…

IMG_5900

IMG_5904

My hero of heroes. These guys are tough!

IMG_5906

IMG_5914

IMG_5916

IMG_5919

IMG_5920

IMG_5921

IMG_5925

IMG_5926

IMG_5932

IMG_5937

The always fabulous Times Square…

IMG_5943

IMG_5946

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

11 thoughts on “New York City 2014 Holiday Season

    • Oh, if only you knew how reactionary and lucky that was. I did not even have the time to raise the camera to my face. I saw him cutting quickly around the corner and my hands just started coming up. I wasn’t even thinking of getting the background motion blurred, I was just trying to get him anywhere in the frame! In the original he is at a 30 degree angle downwards. 🙂 I should officially change my name to, ‘Lucky.’ 🙂

        • Well, I’m certainly not adverse to getting lucky shots when I have not prepared for them, but good and bettering technique is always important too. Honestly (and seriously, for me a rarity) I think the most important thing is enjoying the process and having fun. Once you lose your sense of adventure and it starts to become a chore, that’s when it is time to back away. I see this in people trying to take up cycling all the time. No matter how much you spend, the real key to being a cyclist is to love the doing of it. Knowing that long distance cycling is good for you is not enough, it is too exhausting and painful an activity to keep repeating…unless overriding that misery there is a joy of accomplishment. Obviously cycling is a more extreme case of the idea, but the principle remains the same. Or at least I hope it does. Otherwise I’m just a sucker for pain and inconvenience in both cycling and photography! 🙂

Leave a Reply

