Old Sturbridge Village

IMG_5717_8

Old Sturbridge Village is a mid 17th century living New England museum and tourist attraction located in Sturbridge, Massachusetts. These pictures were taken at one of their annual Christmas Candlelight evenings. Sadly, the best part of the night, a series of a cappela concerts in the local church, just didn’t “photograph” very well. The event opened at 4PM and sundown was eighteen minutes later so I had to work hard to get what pictures I managed to get. And did I mention how incredibly cold it was? But still, a good time was had by all.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_5657_58_59_60_61

IMG_5672_3_4_5_6

IMG_5687

IMG_5689

IMG_5693

IMG_5696_697_698_699_700

IMG_5701

IMG_5704_5_6_7_8

IMG_5709

IMG_5714

IMG_5722

All photographs and comments ©2015 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

29 thoughts on “Old Sturbridge Village

  1. Beautiful !! The transcendence of light, in images, always taps a place … a good place … in my soul. I need to place Old Sturbridge Village down on a list of things to do … But I would want to come during Christmas. So here are the pictures I like the most: #1, #2, #3, #4 .. #6, #8, #10 (the campfire).

    • Thank you! I think what I like most about it is the reminder of what life was like back then…how proud and strong these pioneers were, how they lived, loved, had concerns, grew and died, their problems long gone now and only a legacy of respect left. Not a bad legacy to remember… 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, there was a lot of fun there. I think the only magic of the very cold winter is that it forces people to be together (for warmth!) and to make merry…otherwise it becomes just a drawn out, dark, dreary time of the year.

  2. I was there as a kid several times. I adored those historical recreated villages of New England. We have one nearby that hold Hispanic festivals. Our local history is a bit off Plymouth Rock. What is a cappela concert? When they sing without instruments? Tell Lynn that her choice of photos told a nice story of your evening. Warm heart cold hands John.

    • ‘A cappella’ (pronounced as one word with no space) means, I think, ‘as at church’ and indeed is music sung without instrumentation.

      I too am a sucker for these sorts of living places. Williamsburg in Virginia is the biggest and probably best funded (and a fantastic place to go to) but we actually have several in this area, although Old Sturbridge village is the best and most well known. The thing that I like reflecting on is that it was ‘the good old days’ which honestly were very hard. Everything was labor intensive, danger (even in the form of a little cut) was everywhere, options were few, travel only for the rich, minds were generally very closed, the clothing was either too hot in the summer or too cold in the winter, everything was small and everything and everyone also probably smelled. Yet despite all that they could be happy and contented people. So it’s clear that happiness is not what you have or are, but what you have or are as it relates to your expectations of who you are or what you want.

      And besides, like everyone, I enjoy having a selective cultural memory! 🙂 I’ll tell Lyn how much you liked her selection. She’ll appreciate the compliment after all the misery I put her through!

    • I just checked…it’s only 14°F in north New York right now and you are looking forward to snow for today and the next three days! How is it that you are not weeping?!? I would be curled up in a little ball in the corner and whispering, “Make the bad weather go away! Please!!!” Hugs right back at you…you need them!!! 🙂

      • ROFLMAO!!! I actually went outside today to get some phenomenal shots of water falls. Weeeeeee! Couldn’t see a blasted thing … my glasses were all fogged up and the falling snow all over them as well. I kept looking over my camera that had my coat hood on it to protect it from the falling snow to see where I wanted to shoot. OH if you had seen me, you would have laughed SO hard. Yes, I got some awesome shots and those are coming. Hey, anyone who lived through getting over 7 feet of snow laughs at the little snow that is actually here. LOL (((HUGS))) Amy

    • I recall that it was 22-23°F (-8°C, or so) but windy too. That fire was a welcome respite, and the hot chocolate was (because ‘cold’ is the best ingredient in it) delicious! 🙂

    • It is a really nice place with a constant series of informative and fun events. Sadly we missed last weekend’s sleigh riding but I do not think they had enough snow anyway. (Climate change was not something they envisioned in 1865!) I am hoping to get there at least in the spring when they have enough water to power up the sawmill…now then there will be a lot of pictures to be had! 🙂

      But cold? Yes! Around 23°F if I recall correctly.

Leave a Reply

