New Year’s Resolution

Mule
It is that time of year when it is traditional to make a resolution that will improve the quality of your life. Most people make resolutions like, ‘to stop smoking’ (been there, done that), ‘to lose weight’ (a lost cause), or ‘to work out at the gym more’ (far too much effort.) Usually these great intentions last a few weeks, but no more.

My New Year’s resolution is somewhat more enigmatic and tied to this wonderful image that I got from a Palm Press birthday card received by a dear friend on his birthday. The back says, “My dad photographing a burro somewhere in Arizona.” The photo was taken by Corey Arnold  in 2005. (Check Palm Beach out, they have incredible cards!)

I cannot tell you specifically why this is such a great image or what emotion or idea it conveys to me. On the one hand it is a photographer doing what a photographer should do: taking photos of interesting things. But since burros (also known as donkeys) and their sterile offspring, mules, are known for their stubbornness and toughness, the image says more to me than that. Part of it is the humor: all animals of this family are properly referred to as ‘asses’ and a picture of someone taking a picture of his ass is too good to pass up!

But speaking of ‘asses’, maybe that is it, or, more specifically, making one of yourself. If I can paraphrase my good friend and blogger, T, of the Speak Listen Pray Don’t Be Stupid blog, ‘Do what is righteous, just don’t be stupid about it.’

As New Year’s Resolutions go, that is not a bad one—I think I’ll give it a try—and hopefully, for more than a few weeks.

See you next year!

I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

14 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution

  1. Love that you followed your dad’s love for the camera. He has taught you well. Thank you so much for liking my posts and photography. It really means the world to me that a professional takes the time and likes it! Thank you always!

    • And a very Happy New Year to you too! Asses are, let’s face it, just pure comic material for any time of the year! 🙂

    • And to you too. Let us hope that the worst of this winter is behind us and that a happy, healthy and safe new year is before us! 🙂 Good bless us, everyone!

  2. My husband and I want a donkey! They are awesome. Love your resolution and am certain you shall achieve it! And if you don’t, and make an ass of yourself, don’t worry, you will fit right in at The Holler! 😉
    Happy New Year my friend~

    • Funny that you and your husband want a donkey. I asked Lyn is she wanted one and she replied that, “One ass around here is enough.” Which is funny, really, because we don’t own a donkey at all. 🙂

    • Speaking of cooking, that’s a great idea! In fact, today, I bought Julia Child’s MASTERING THE ART OF FRENCH COOKING, one of those great (in the US) tomes that I have always wanted but never bought. Coming from Belgium, French cooking is probably second nature to you, but for us crass, rude and uncivilized Canajun/Muricans, it is a Big Thing. So yes, one of my resolutions is to cook better, meaning ‘richer,’ too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

