First snow

P1010303

On November 14th we had our first snow fall. It lasted only a few hours and disappeared later that day, but for a short while it was gorgeous. The first few pictures were taken just after dawn—and by hand, no less—in East Kilingly, CT on my way to work while the snow was still falling. In fact, they were taken at the same spot as several images from the Daylight Saving Time post. The rest of the photos were taken in slightly better light a bit later in Foster, Rhode Island. The pink tinge in some of the latter photos is not due to poor processing, but is caused by the red leaves glowing through the white snow.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

P1010299

P1010304

P1010305

P1010308

P1010312

P1010313

P1010315

P1010318

P1010321

P1010322

P1010326

P1010329

P1010334

P1010335

P1010341

P1010347

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

43 thoughts on “First snow

    • Thank you so very much! I’ve just got back from looking at your new blog and believe me when I say that I now take your compliment double. I love your work! It has such a light and delicate touch and yet are such strong photographs. Well done! I look forward to seeing many more posts from you!

    • T, glad you liked the shots! I was certainly lucky…that just after dawn light does strange things to snow. It was a magical morning for sure!

  1. Oh wow!! These images blow me away. Just amazing!! And I just saw we have the same theme. I changed mine yesterday. Was it your blog I saw that I fell in Love with? If so again I am deeply grateful because now I can really show off my photos as you do here!!! Oh I wish I could hug you for all you have given me!! I am so humbled that such a great photographer is following me. (((HUGS))) Amy

    • You have a great photographer following your site? Wow, lucky you! Who is it?! It can’t be me, of course, I’m just one of those spray and pray types who take lots of pictures with a really great camera and trust that a few will come out nice! 🙂 Seriously, though, thank you for the compliment, but honestly, i am more confuddled and confused by what i do not know than by what i do know. And that’s the truth, honestly. But i am so glad that you are enjoying the images. 🙂

      • Well then you are in good company! LOL I mostly fly by the seat of my pants. I still don’t know all the ins and outs on my camera. And PS CC and Lightroom 5? Hello? I have not a clue what I am doing yet. I have some apps on my iPad that I play around with but if you ask me how I edited some pics, I couldn’t tell you. I just push this button, use that slider, oh this looks interesting let me try this …. Hehehehehe Sometimes the most clueless among the group called photographers produce the greatest shots. I’m still using PS Elements 6 and then I import those editions into my iPad and continue playing with apps. I plan on studying PS CC and Lightrom 5 over the winter. So really, that is the truth. I get so thrilled when I see a photo come out in such a way that I wanted it to …. and then I think … How did I do that? LOL Have a great Thanksgiving today! Love, Amy

    • Laina,

      (Which by the way is a unique and very pretty name? Is it a family name or just original?) Thank you so much! That is incredibly kind of you to say and even kinder that you took the time to leave such a complimentary note. I appreciate it very, very much! 🙂

    • Yes, way early. In fact, it is already scary. Check out the videos and photos of yesterday’s storm in upper state New York! With two to three more feet (750 cm to 1 m) expected by the end of the weekend. Oh, and the death toll is up to 8 by now. This is freakishly early and may well set all time records for the most snowfall in any one day in the US. It is surely an omen for the winter to come.

      The worst part is that many people at my work go around dismissively saying, “So much for global warming!” I am, by now, tired of responding, “It’s not called that, it’s called Global Climate Change. And what it really means is that the weather patterns have been catastrophically disrupted and are swinging wildly back and forth. Hence the big hurricanes of Katrina and Sandy, the larger tornadoes going further north, epic cold freezes and incredible highs found all over the world. We are now riding a bucking bronco.” But still it’s always, “So where’s this global warming we were promised?!” 🙂

      While for us it may be a long and deep cold winter like Europe saw last year (our winter came very late, in January in fact but lingered into the early spring with a cool summer) at least we can be comforted that it will be good skiing and snowshoeing! And, I hope, good photography! 🙂

      • Oh god, this is scary ! In 24 hours they said !!! In Belgium, we are still blessed with mild weather. I hope the winter won’t be too strong, I’m not well equipped.

        Are you well equipped ?

        You are right about the “global warming” paradox 🙂

        • The pictures from today, when you see people trying to dig out, are even more stupendous.

          Am I well equipped? Well, yes, I suppose so. I grew up in Newfoundland where 1m and 1.25m snow falls were common and I have shoveled snow (and now also use a snow blower) all my life. In fact, if I am not rushed and can take my time, I rather enjoy it for the exercise. But psychologically? Not so sure anymore…the cold and many snow storms gets tiresome after a month and then it becomes a question of endurance.

          On the other hand, we do have a lovely wood burning stove in our fireplace that provides lots of heat and gives us a good reason to curl up with good music and hot chocolate. That’s always good! 🙂

    • That house is interesting, being based on a very old style of house native to the area (but much larger of course) and that corner lot has been a farm since the 1700s. The fences are re-built from stone walls that were made then, and that end marker (one of two on the property that I know of) is from the late 1700′s/early 1800′s and moved to that spot. And to think that those beeches are just babies yet! 🙂

    • Bonnie, did you spot it correctly. That house is sort of based on a period house (but much larger, of course) and that corner lot has been a farm since the 1700s. The fences are re-built from stone walls that were made then and that end marker (one of two on the property that I know of) is from the late 1700’s/early 1800’s and moved to that spot.

      It’s a beautiful area, honestly! We cycle through there a lot.

  2. How beautiful the view is…I haven’t ever seen real snow …so it fascinates me every time I see a picture of it …..its breathtakingly beautiful ❤❤

    • Imagining snow is easy. Take a bowl of ice, add water, stick in your hand. Snow. 🙂

      But I agree, it’s first blush is beautiful. It’s when you have to shovel several feet thick carpets of it for the third time that month just to get to work and it hangs around for month after month after month that it gets wearisome. That is why I embrace skiing and snowshoeing…if you do not find something fun to do in winter it can hang on and over you like a wet blanket.

      But that is too gloomy for now. Yes it was beautiful and I am taking it as a challenge this year to learn to photography in winter better than I have before. (All that reflective surface is a real challenge to take photos in.) Here’s to a fun winter!

        • Good for you! Years and years ago in college I really hurt my right knee skiing. (The fall, hit and slide was, as one observer noted, “epic and explosive.” I had to be carried down on a sled and used crutches for weeks.) So about 20 years ago when I got back into skiing I decided to try snowboarding instead, because while skiing is hard on your knees, snowboarding protects your knees: they are locked together on one board and shifts all the hard work to your hips. “Perfect!” I thought. So I put the board on and tried to get up off the snow. And tried and tried and tried and tried. And couldn’t. You have to be very ‘stretchy’ and limber to snowboard! 🙂 I’m not.

          So I took the equipment back to the rental hut, exchanged it for some skis and never looked back.

          To this day I would love to snowboard because it looks so graceful. A word of advice whenever you do try and learn to snowboard. It is really hard at the very beginning to learn because you cannot snowboard badly and keep going…you just fall. Unless you have a super sense of balance, give yourself a full 5 days of lessons before you give up thinking you cannot do it. Everyone thinks that. BUT, after the 4th or 5th day you will “get it” and then progress very, very quickly. Skiing is the exact opposite. You can be skiing (badly, but still, skiing and staying upright) the very first day of lessons, but it takes longer and more practice to get really good at it.

          I have kids and grandkids that ski, while others snowboard…it’s all personal preference. But honestly, flying down a groomed ski surface in the sunny cold…there is NOTHING like it! Nothing! 🙂

          Good luck! And post pictures when it happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

