Acadia – day 4, en route home

IMG_3883_4_5_6_7

Rather than take the fastest route home from Acadia, on the day we left we decided to drive along Highway 1 as it hugged the seacoast between Bucksport and Rockland, Maine…a famous stretch of road with many beautiful views of the ocean that takes in the towns of Belfast, Camden and Rockport. Later we made another excursion into Kennebunkport, another resort area made famous as the current home of President George Bush—the first one, not the second. (Somehow our social calendars just could not be reconciled so we did not stop in for tea. Again, their loss.) The extra time for all these side trips was well worth the effort!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_3457_58_59_60_61

IMG_3495_6_7_8_9

IMG_3505_6_7_8_9

IMG_3510_1_2_3_4

IMG_3515_6_7_8_9

IMG_3545_6_7_8_9

IMG_3555_6_7_8_9

IMG_3570_1_2_3_4

IMG_3581

IMG_3594_5_6_7_8

IMG_3599_600_601_602_603

IMG_3606

IMG_3622_3_4_5_6

IMG_3639_40_41_42_43

IMG_3664_5_6_7_8

IMG_3669_70_71_72_73

IMG_3674_5_6_7_8

IMG_3704_5_6_7_8

IMG_3786_87_88_89_90

IMG_3796_797_798_799_800

IMG_3835

IMG_3848_49_50_51_52

IMG_3853_4_5_6_7

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

18 thoughts on “Acadia – day 4, en route home

  1. Such Beautiful photos John!!!! It’s funny …. but every time I see your pictures of where you’ve traveled, I end up feeling like I’ve just been there myself. Love all your postings!!!! ;-D

    • Lindsey,

      That is very sweet of you and really an incredible compliment that I am not sure that I deserve, but which I will gratefully take! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! That shot was not ‘pure happenstance,’ but it was close to it! 🙂 I almost drove by and then re-considered the decision and turned around.

  2. Beautiful images, indeed. Lovely and resplendent. I love it when light filters through vibrant, umber leaves and dances and sparkles on the water. So well-captured. Cheers!

    Autumn Jade

    • That is exceptionally kind of you and honestly is the sort of reaction that keeps me posting pictures! 🙂 And I love your use of the word ‘umber’ the perfect word for describing that exact shade. Thank you!

    • I certainly agree with the prices! But is an upscale, touristy spot so that’s what you have to put up with. But their bathrooms worked, happily! 🙂

      That house is quintessential New England, which is why I stopped and the sugar maple made it perfect. And while I like the last two, it’s the first one (from the same area) that for some reason calls to me. Lyn, I think, would say that the church picture to her is classic New England and would be her favorite.

    • Thank you! You and my wide agree on that church over the river photo. She was there with me when I took it and still cannot believe how gorgeous the picture came out! It was pure luck. I had pulled off the road when I saw the church, but was too close to frame it well. So I went back on the highway, crossed back over the river and went looking for a spot to take the picture. I was worried because every access was private property, until I came to an old, abandoned house which was for sale and felt it was ok to go there. The crab apples on the old tree in the back yard were as sour as lemons and transported me back to my childhood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

