Acadia – day 1

IMG_1493_4_5_6_7
Acadia National Park is an American treasure located on the eastern seaboard in the state of Maine. The smallest of the great national parks, still it has the largest number of visitors, owing to its accessibility to the huge population along the east coast and into the industrial north of the country. Lyn and I spent three wonderful days there in October and these photos are the result.

By the way, while at Acadia Park I met another photographer, Bill Swindaman and he has recently posted some of his photos from that weekend. Bill is an incredible photographer and I recommend that you check out his work!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

This is the amazing bridge across the Penobscot River we drove over en route to the park. Any glare you see in the first few high up photos is because they were taken from the observation deck (the top three rows of windows you can just see in the photo below) at the top of the eastern pylon.

IMG_1070_1_2_3_4

IMG_1080_1_2_3_4

IMG_1090_1_2_3_4

IMG_1131_2_3_4_5

IMG_1146_47_48_49_50

IMG_1162_3_4_5_6

IMG_1183_4_5_6_7

Jordan Lake in Acadia National Park:

IMG_1225_6_7_8_9

IMG_1240_1_2_3_4

IMG_1250_1_2_3_4

IMG_1265_6_7_8_9

IMG_1275_6_7_8_9

IMG_1285_6_7_8_9

IMG_1295_6_7_8_9

IMG_1315_6_7_8_9

IMG_1320_1_2_3_4

IMG_1325_6_7_8_9

The view looking eastward from the tallest mountain on the eastern seaboard, Cadillac Mountain:

IMG_1351_2_3_4_5

IMG_1367_68_69_70_71

Sunset from the west side of Cadillac Mountain:

IMG_1433_4_5_6_7

IMG_1443_4_5_6_7

IMG_1518_19_20_21_22

IMG_1543_4_5_6_7

IMG_1553_4_5_6_7

IMG_1563_4_5_6_7

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

13 thoughts on “Acadia – day 1

    • Thank you! 🙂 I hope some day that you will be able to go there. I just visited The World According to Dina and must compliment you back on such a beautiful site! I have enough trouble maintaining a site in one language, let alone two! And the photos are stunning! I look forward to many visits there. 🙂

    • Weren’t they something?!?! I only show a few, I must have 30 photos of how those clouds formed and broke and the way the light changed before our eyes. Ten minutes before we were on the wrong side of Cadillac Mountain and when I realized that I went tearing off like a madman down the road. The problem was that I could not find a safe and legal spot to take the car off the road that had a good vantage point for the sunset which I was missing. FINALLY I found a spot, got off the road, got into the passenger seat (I stayed in the car because it was cold up there) and just snapped away, all the while trying to keep my jaw from falling to the floor. If those pictures had been the last I ever got from that trip, I would have been content with those. 🙂 I’m glad they weren’t, but I knew I was in photography heaven.

  1. Thank you for posting these photos of Acadia. I had planned to go there in early October, but at the last moment had to cancel it. Your beautiful photos now remind me that I will have to go there next year for sure.

    • You are very welcome, glad that you enjoyed them. We went on the Columbus Day weekend thinking that the crowds would have cleared out after school started. We were wrong. If it gets any more crowded in summer it must be like living in a sardine can. Bar Harbor was wall to wall people, especially since there were two and three cruise ships arriving for a day’s visit, per day! But still, yes, it is worth the experience! Take an island excursion if you have time and the Isle a Haut (which we did not get to, sadly) is supposed to be lovely.

Leave a Reply

