Acadia – Asticou azalea garden

IMG_2956_57_58_59_60

As you enter Northeast Harbor, one of the small fishing villages on the boundary of Acadia National Park, you find the Asticou Azalea Garden, an absolute treasure of a spot! It is beautifully designed, developed and maintained. And while not an ‘Acadian’ spot, if you ever get to the area, it is not to be missed. And to think we found it by shear accident!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_2951_2_3_4_5

IMG_2961_2_3_4_5

IMG_2991_2_3_4_5

IMG_3012_3_4_5_6

IMG_3022_3_4_5_6

IMG_3037_38_39_40_41

IMG_3042_3_4_5_6

IMG_3052_3_4_5_6

IMG_3077_78_79_80_81

IMG_3082_3_4_5_6

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

16 thoughts on “Acadia – Asticou azalea garden

  1. Nice series. The light was so harsh when I stopped by this location, I took no photos. Your colorful reflection images are very nice, but I think that last birch bark photo is my favorite.

    • That is very kind of you to say. Thank you for taking the time to be so complimentary…it is what keeps me posting things! 🙂

    • Absolutely! The only downside to Acadia is how crowded it is. We were there in October, the ‘low’ season and it was packed still. I shudder to think what it is like when the schools are open. But yes, still, no matter what, a treasure. And that garden is priceless! 🙂

    • Being there was amazing. And all because I caught a small glimpse of one bush from the road as we were driving by. I almost never stopped, thinking it was a private garden I saw. But on a whim I turned the car around, parked and thought that the worse that could happen is that the owner would not give me permission to take pictures. Then I found out it was public and then I saw the full view. My jaw still aches from how hard it hit the ground! 🙂

Leave a Reply

