An early fall dawn

IMG_9835_6_7_8_9

Sunrise over Lake Chaubunagungamaug (I kid you not, that is it’s name) in Webster, MA. The latter pictures (starting with the falling down shed) were taken somewhere in Thompson, CT, on my way home from Massachusetts.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the hard part: the photo selections. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_9825_6_7_8_9

IMG_9850_1_2_3_4

IMG_9870_1_2_3_4

IMG_9875_6_7_8_9

IMG_9880_1_2_3_4

IMG_9885_6_7_8_9

IMG_9895_6_7_8_9

IMG_9915_6_7_8_9

IMG_9929_30_31_32_33

IMG_9949_50_51_52_53

IMG_9969

IMG_9974_5_6_7_8

IMG_9989_90_91_92_93

IMG_9994_5_6_7_8

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

18 thoughts on “An early fall dawn

  1. I think this series may be my favorite (so far)!!!! These photos are magnificent John; the purple/lavender hues, the gorgeous reflections, and the incredibly beautiful scenes!!! Magical!!!!

    • Actually, mine too. My favorite is either the still water with the wharf or the close up of the red buoy in the yellow water. I was lucky…I went there really not expecting much. Lucky, huh?

      • You’re very welcome. Though I’m not a photographer, I’ve always loved photographs. I suppose it’s because they are moments trapped in time that become stories to those who view them. Thank you for sharing your lovely photographs.

        • Absolutely, a moment caught in time. When I look at one of my pictures, even one from years ago, I instantly remember when and where I took it. Plus, photography (as opposed to snapshooting) is one of those activities I recommend that everyone do to enhance their artistic nature. None of us are the return of Ansel Adams and few are true professionals, but all of us can become amateurs, because photography is one of those arts that is easily accessible. The more you start looking for photographs and the more you start learning what goes into making a good photograph (and there are a ton of free resources on the web to teach that) the more the world starts opening up to you and you see far more than you ever did. And with even phone cameras getting good these days, or a cheap point and shoot (I just saw one for $200 that would blow the best pro camera from 2000-2002 out of the water!) it is more accessible than ever. So, hey, why not? As Lou Reed said (but did not mean in this context), take a walk on the ‘wild’ side! 🙂

            • You should. If you are looking for any advice, drop me a message and I will email you directly. Honestly, it is a lot of fun and makes going anywhere for any reason a lot more fun. I even go shopping with my wife now, more often, as long as I can sneak off and take photos while there! 🙂

    • I sometimes use ND filters…depending on whether I want to blur some motion in the scene. Besides that, you have an excellent eye, many of these shots are HDR shots.

Leave a Reply

