Alexander Lake sunset

IMG_7696_697_698_699_700

This post ends a good run. Along with Beavertail Park 1, Beavertail Park 2, Beavertail Park fisheye, Eastern Point Beach, Alexander Lake, Quaddick Park, Pulanski Park, Sunset down on the farm, Harkness sunrise, Harkness flowers and Knobby trees redux, these Alexander Lake at sunset pictures are the final ones I took during the Labor Day 2014 holiday weekend. I have to confess that when I took the last picture of this set I was kind of relieved that it was all over. For one thing the tripod I was using had a thumb lock that was hard to turn and my hand and arm muscles were, by this time, very  sore. (Contributing, no doubt, to my current bout of tennis elbow. Oops…) Besides that, I was looking forward to a good night’s sleep with no rising for dawn photos, and a day or two with no camera in sight!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_7691_2_3_4_5

IMG_7676_77_78_79_80

IMG_7651_2_3_4_5

IMG_7641_2_3_4_5

IMG_7626_27_28_29_30

 

IMG_7681_2_3_4_5

IMG_7606_07_08_09_10

IMG_7706_07_08_09_10

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

25 thoughts on “Alexander Lake sunset

  1. Another great series! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. Gorgeous sunset capture.The orange sunset shot (third from the bottom) is incredible!

    • You are so very kind and generous and I thank you so much! I keep saying it but it’s true. I was lucky: all I did was show up at the right time at the right place and push the tiny little button. Mr. Canon did all the hard stuff! 🙂

    • Well, actually, no. 😦 I really overworked it on the Columbus Day weekend at Acadia park…but luckily I have lots of pictures to post and with every twinge I say to myself, “It was worth it!” And it was! 🙂 Soon to come, I hope, I will get a few photos posted.

      I am also going to get a much lighter tripod and a tripod sling! That’s for sure!

  2. “The lens behind lens gives visual birth to the breath of the heart.”
    This is my poetic attempt at saying that it is the photographer that takes the photo, not the camera. Through your photos, it is so easy to see your reverence for the glory of nature!!! I look forward to every new series of photos that you post!!! They are always filled with a deep serenity and a feeling of Joy.

    Alexander Lake looks so peaceful, where lazy summer days are the norm. I especially love the last photo. The shade of blue has such a purity and an almost transparent glow. The trees look like a line of little people neatly standing on its shore, stilled by the beauty they behold. My eyes just get lost in this photo John!

    • So many things to say at once. First off, well, I’m blushing…honestly…I mean those are such kind and sweet sentiments that I am blown away and honestly cannot find the words to thank you enough for such generosity of spirit. To say that you are too kind is too great an understatement. But from the bottom of my heart, thank you very much!

      As to your poetry, I obviously now have reason to bend your ear to start TWO blogs, one, your photo blog…you really have to start putting some images out on it, and two, you should also start a poetry blog. I like that line very much!

      And finally, that night was very special, one of those magical end of summer days, warm, little or no wind and a very cool blue light everywhere. It was a very humbling experience to be able to capture it.

    • Actually, I am embarrassed to say that all the photography I did over our most recent holiday weekend has strained it even worse. (red faced shame) But as I told my wife…I got LOTS of good photos! And that IS what counts, after all… 🙂

        • You are right. I have a follow up meeting coming soon and I think it’s going to take a shot of cortisone to set it aright. I hate that sort of thing, but what with photography, cycling (well, spin classes now) and everything else I do, it just does not get a chance to heal. 😦 Personally, I blame my dad. He had the constitution of a horse and the bloody mindedness of a mule and would just not give into anything. He was a great example of doing what you want and never giving in to ANYTHING! He’s a neat guy!

            • (shsshs! Don’t say that out loud. It’s so-o-o true!) The only issue is that whereas our generation only took after the best aspects of our parents, the generation we raised only took after our worst aspects. That is why, as grandparents, we have the right to spoil our children’s children rotten with all the love and affection we can. That will have one of two outcomes: 1) they will be angelic when they grow up because of our all embracing grandparent love (while ignoring their parents), or 2) they will be miserable, ungrateful little whiney brats as adults. In the first case we win because of how wonderful they are, and in the second we win because we won’t have to put up with them then, their parents will, and revenge really is a lot of fun. See, win-win. 🙂

              • You are a philosopher 🙂 I love my grandchildren to bits, but my daughter will always be #1 to me. My grandchildren have her love as a mother, but she only has my love. So I keep spoiling them all 🙂

    • Thank you! It was a gorgeous night with odd light. I was lucky to capture it as I did…that cool, calm, blue is perfect for my memory of the evening.

    • Thank you! It is a lovely place and one that I have cycled past dozens of times without really seeing it. That is the nice thing about a camera…it teaches you to start noticing your surroundings more! 🙂

    • It was a wonderful, end of summer night, warm, dry and almost perfectly quiet. I was lucky to capture that mood and am grateful for it.

    • It is a beautiful place. The community around the lake works hard to keep the water clean and to ensure that there is not too much noise so that everyone cane enjoy it equally.

    • It is an interesting and odd effect, isn’t it? The light was strange that night and I was lucky the camera managed to catch it.

Leave a Reply

