Sunset down on the farm

IMG_6661_2_3_4_5

In Valley Sunset, I showed photographs from a valley edge looking down onto a beautiful farm at sunset. That farm is on route 44 between Putnam, where we live, and Pomfret, both towns in Connecticut. Now for the opposite: these photos were taken on that farm (with several of them up to the same ridge) and again, at sunset.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_6404_5_6_7_8

IMG_6414_5_6_7_8

IMG_6419_20_21_22_23

IMG_6429_30_31_32_33

IMG_6394_5_6_7_8

IMG_6454_5_6_7_8

IMG_6459_60_61_62_63

IMG_6484_5_6_7_8

IMG_6499_500_501_502_503\ IMG_6504_5_6_7_8

IMG_6509_10_11_12_13

IMG_6544_5_6_7_8

IMG_6574_5_6_7_8

IMG_6594_5_6_7_8

 

IMG_6600_1_2_3_4

IMG_6605_6_7_8_9

IMG_6620_1_2_3_4

IMG_6635_6_7_8_9

IMG_6640_1_2_3_4

IMG_6645_6_7_8_9

IMG_6681_2_3_4_5

IMG_6630_1_2_3_4


All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

33 thoughts on “Sunset down on the farm

    • Thank you very much! You are very kind and generous and I appreciate you taking your time to tell me that you liked the post! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! They were interesting in that the sun was long down by then and the pink flare up was caused only in the upper atmosphere. It is a lesson I have re-learned: it ain’t over ’til it’s over, so keep taking photos! 🙂

    • Thank you! But when the subject was as beautiful as that farm and the light so perfectly golden, it was not hard to get such beautiful shots. I was lucky!

        • Yes, you are absolutely correct, the perfect times to take photographs. I just have a quibble with the ‘Golden Hour’ definition which is most often described as the hour after sunrise (sun over the horizon) and the hour before sunset (last of the sun disappears). In fact, I think it is the 3 to 4 hours after dawn (when the first light hits the horizon) and the 3 hours before dusk (no light in the sky) that is the ‘Golden Period.’ The only thing wrong with this perfect definition is that the period after sunset and before dusk needs to be called the ‘Blue Hour’ because the light changes from golden to blue during this short period. But if you have a tripod you can still get amazing photos. Anyway, sorry for going on so long, but as you can tell, photography is sort of a passion of mine! 🙂

          • Thank you so much for this helpful information ! I am learning something new , which is great !! It will definitely increase my photography knowledge ! Thank you John 🙂

            • You are very kind and patient with the too long ramblings of an old man. Sorry if I bent your ear too long. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, that is kind and incredible praise indeed. TO be honest, all I did was show up with a camera…Mother Nature did all the rest by supplying that gorgeous golden light. All I had to do was fiddle a few dials and press a button.

      • ah no no no….iam not falling for that any more 🙂 🙂 I tried landing up and pressing a few dials and all I got was a biiiig blur!!!! 🙂 🙂

        • Well, OK, yeah, standing still helps. Sort of. 🙂 With poetry as sensitive as yours, I am sure that you could develop a very fine touch at photography if you gave it some time. A poet I once heard said, “Everyone has 200 bad poems in them, so write them early, get them out of the way and start writing good ones.” I think everyone has 1,000 bad photographs in them…so take them early, get them out of the way and start taking good ones! It’s that simple. 🙂

          • I really do want to get there…I imagine myself taking surreal pictures that get noticed…..so I shall continue trying….iam in no hurry …I sip several cups of chai along this journey❤❤
            But now as for your pictures you have a gift…and that gift is beautiful ❤❤❤❤

    • Thank you! It was just a great day with incredible golden light suffusing the air. And it only got better as the sun went down. I was lucky to have a wide angle lens to catch much of it.

    • Now see, that just shows you to be a lady of distinction and taste! That is my favorite picture too 🙂 …the detail and color in that cloud is amazing…when I saw how it came out I was so relieved!

    • Thank you! it was a lot of fun. The farm owners and hands couldn’t have been nicer either. The light was just stunning, simply stunning.

Leave a Reply

