Knobby trees redux

IMG_7219_20_21_22_23

In Harkness Park – grove, I showed photographs of a small circle of twisted and bent trees. Recently, I was back at Harkness Memorial State Park, for a sunrise shoot (coming soon) and decided to revisit the small grove. “Knobby trees” is what they have come to be referred as in a local photography group and the name is sticking for me. I hope you enjoy this go around.

In answer to one email: yes, these are live trees and these are photographs of them, not paintings. And the place really, really, really does exist. I have been teleported there three times now!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_7249_50_51_52_53

IMG_7259_60_61_62_63

IMG_7279_80_81_82_83

IMG_7284_5_6_7_8

IMG_7289_90_91_92_93

IMG_7294_5_6_7_8

IMG_7304_5_6_7_8

IMG_7309_10_11_12_13

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

33 thoughts on “Knobby trees redux

    • That was such fun to do. Using a fisheye lens gathers in so much space and accentuates the gnarled look of the trees. I love your calling them ‘wizened old men, keepers of secrets’. I am going to steal that for a poem! 🙂

  1. The first photo definitely makes me believe that you were teleported to this mystical forest.;) What a place to be at!
    Enchanting pics as usual. 🙂

    • Thank you so very much! In many ways I envy your blog. You had the good sense to mix both photography and poetry in one place rather than keep up two sites, something, in hindsight, I would have preferred. Why is it we are only wise after our mistakes? 🙂

      • Envy… are you kidding me, John ;). I know you are 🙂
        I had never thought of putting photos along with the posts, it just happened. 🙂
        I think the sidebar, which gives an update of the poems in the other blog is a good feature that you have added.
        Take care and enjoy your weekend, John. 🙂

        • Norma, my apologies for not replying earlier but we were on vacation and Internet connectivity (as well as time!) was hard to come by. Actually, I really am not kidding, I like the way your blog is put together and it is, I am certain, easier to maintain than mine. 🙂 Still, it is all good, my real only complaint in life is the amount of time I have to do what I want! I hope you too had a good weekend!

          • John, please don’t apologize I understand. Sometimes even I get busy who doesn’t? It’s a busy life after all. 😉
            And somehow I knew you would be collecting lovely photos for us. So, thanks for your amazing work. 🙂
            And thanks for complimenting Emovere. 🙂

            • Gosh but you are correct. I must have a dozen sets of photos I need to go through and pick and choose from. And that doesn’t count the 700 or so I cam back from Acadia with! Arrggghh! Sometimes I think I am drowning in photos! 🙂 But the fact that there are truly lovely people in the world (present company implied) who enjoy them makes the whole thing worthwhile and exciting!

    • Mary, thank you so much for your kind comments, they mean a lot to me. Please feel free to re-blog any of my posts (either photographs from this site or poems from The Book of Pain at any time! I would be honored.

  2. These photos are like a a Disney Fantasy John! Pure Magic! Love them!!!!!
    It’s no wonder that you have to tell people that they are photographs, not paintings!!! I am going to have to try your technique of lying on the ground to get a really good photo of them!!! (but Diva that I am – I may have to pad the ground with a blow-up mattress HaHa!) Now, ‘that’ would really be an “odd” sight in Harkness Park!!!!! 😉

    • Thank you so very, very much! I will confess that the only way I got prone was that I was there at dawn when no one else was silly enough to join me. This pre-supposes the old philosophical question, “If the photographer lies down on the ground and there is no one there to see them, is there any loss of dignity?” Apparently, the answer is ‘no’ because I did it! 🙂

    • Thank you, Amy! The fisheye lens I used makes the ‘knobbieness’ more pronounced and brings what is actually a great expanse of trees into one frame for that ‘other worldy’ look. Luckily they were fun and easy to take…that’s my style of photography! 🙂

    • Thank you so very much! Yes I did use the 8mm Rokinon. It’s a fun lens, isn’t it? It really accentuates that gnarled look and compresses the grove down into this ‘Hentzel and Gretzel’ looking woods. It really was an easy series to take. That one you like was the reason I went back…the first time I had not though to lie on the ground with the camera at the very center of the groove.

    • Well, thank you very much, that is incredibly kind of you. But the credit must really go to the fisheye lens I used which accentuates the ‘knobbiness’ of the trees to give it that other worldly look. It is neat though, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

