Pulanski Park

IMG_6135_6_7_8_9

 

We live in the “Quiet Corner” of Connecticut, the northeast section just below Massachusetts and next to Rhode Island. (The “quiet” is in deference to the “noisy” corner: the southwest of the state which is on the border with New York State and an easy commute into New York City.) Pulanski Park is just over the border in Rhode Island and is a favorite place for local runners, snowshoers and cross country skiers, owing to the large number of trails and dirt roads throughout the area.

The last picture shows the Rhode Island flag. Not only does Rhode Island have the longest name of any state, it has the shortest motto, which adorns its flag: Hope.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_6165_6_7_8_9

IMG_6190_1_2_3_4

IMG_6195_6_7_8_9

IMG_6215_6_7_8_9

IMG_6225_6_7_8_9

IMG_6240_1_2_3_4

IMG_6257_58_59_60_61

IMG_6262_3_4_5_6

IMG_6287_88_89_90_91

IMG_6307_08_09_10_11

IMG_6322_3_4_5_6

IMG_6327_28_29_30_31

IMG_6352_3_4_5_6

IMG_6379

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

33 thoughts on “Pulanski Park

    • Winter or summer, fall or spring it is a beautiful, quiet, little park. Yes, you’d love it there, and the place would immediately recognize a worthy Wild Man and love you back! 🙂

    • Wow and double wow. I had never heard of this site before but will have to keep up on it. And then wow to your b&w version of the tree trunk on the ground. I think it is stunning! What do you think?

        • That’s part of the fun of photography, no matter how much you know there is more to learn. If I ever get to the point where I am not trying to learn something or learn to do something better, I think that is the day I quit it. So, good for you!

    • Thank you so very much for your kind comment and thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh. It was a beautiful summer day…I was lucky to be able to capture that feeling in photos.

    • Actually, these are taken with one of the cheapest lens I own, an all manual 8 mm Rokinon fish eye. It is not exactly 180º of vision. (In the biz it’s explained as my camera is APS-C with a 1.6 crop factor.) But it is awful close. Besides, it’s hard enough now to both avoid the sun and to take a picture without my feet in them! Notice, for example the 6th picture…you can just see the feet of my tripod sneaking in at the bottom of the image. :-/ Oops!

      Many of the People’s Climate March images were taken with the same image.

        • Using a fisheye can be downright fun. I have found that it is good to use in a couple of ways: 1) level so that it just gets a lot of space in…this is mostly the way I tried to use it in New York. 2) Exaggerated, really blow reality out of proportion. 3) When you have an interesting object near to you and want to offset it against the background. Think having a kitten sniffing towards you (the near object) against the background of the entire room. And they perform spectacularly with the sun in the picture. (In fact, it is sometimes hard to get the sun out of the picture, the lens is that wide.) Oh, one other thing…watch out for your fett…it is so easy to let tem sneak into the shot! 🙂 Have fun, I look forward to the results!

          • Thanks for the tips! I used the lens in Valencia – you are right about the level and blowing up..it was quite amusing for me. I published the photos already on my two latest posts on Valencia. I was quite happy with it 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, that one worked perfectly, didn’t it…although for the life of me I am not sure why…they all looked like that in the taking. Do you notice the feet of my tripod in the bottom of the picture? They are the first thing I see every time I look at it! 🙂 I was going to edit them out but decided to leave them in as a reminder to myself not to take everything so seriously and to laugh at my own mistakes.

      • I’m coming back to look it again. I have said to myself and a few of my blog friends that if we just want to view perfect photos we can always go to the NG photos and Flickr; what we do here is to have fun and for share our stories. Hope you agree 🙂
        Way to treat our own mistakes! I like it. 🙂

    • Thank you so very much, it is very kind of you to say that! I just looked at your site briefly and will come back to it later when I have more time. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

