People’s Climate March – New York City, September 20, 2014

IMG_9472

The final estimate I read was that 400,000 people showed up in New York City for the People’s Climate March, and that there were 2,600+ solidarity events held around the world in 162 countries. It was amazing! From a  day with stand out memories, here are a few:

  • the press and size of the crowd was amazing! While I ran down the line taking pictures (I neither started at one end, nor got to the other in four hours) Lyn stood at 81st St. In all that time she never got to march…the head was moving but the ‘stretch’ never reached that far back, in all that time! And there were city blocks of people waiting behind her!
  • the moment of silence was pure silence, not a peep, even from the children. But then, when it was over, and the wave of the roar of everyone shouting as the sound came zooming down the boulevard, it sent shivers down my back and neck.
  • there’s a picture of a policeman (who were all vigilant, but relaxed and helpful) with a big grin on his face. After I asked if I could take his photo, he said, “Why do you want to take my photo?” “Because you are the only Republican here,” I said. That’s what bought out the grin!
  • the group carrying the big planet was followed by a group carrying a painted tarpaulin which they used to throw two large balls into the air. When they did the children would run under it screaming and having a ball…so of course I had to get in there too and take a shot upwards.
  • everyone was polite and calm. I did not see anyone get testy or hear one negative word spoken, despite the press of people and the delays.

Crowd shots to show the mass of people, portraits to catch the human element—I hope you enjoy them all.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.
IMG_9402

IMG_9404

IMG_9410

IMG_9411

IMG_9413

IMG_9420

IMG_9458

IMG_9465

IMG_9471

IMG_9473

IMG_9476

IMG_9480

IMG_9488

IMG_9490

IMG_9491

IMG_9493

IMG_9502

IMG_9519

IMG_9522

IMG_9525

IMG_9527

IMG_9529

IMG_9530

IMG_9534

IMG_9535

IMG_9541

IMG_9546

IMG_9548

IMG_9563

IMG_9566

IMG_9568

IMG_9577

IMG_9583

IMG_9598

IMG_9602

IMG_9603

IMG_9606

IMG_9610

IMG_9614

IMG_9623

IMG_9626

IMG_9629

IMG_9630

IMG_9632

IMG_9633

IMG_9642

IMG_9647

IMG_9648

IMG_9652

IMG_9653

IMG_9656

IMG_9665

IMG_9666

IMG_9670

IMG_9677


All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

15 thoughts on “People’s Climate March – New York City, September 20, 2014

    • Thank you! Yes, it is an awesome topic and I hope the 400,000+ crowd (when they expected 100,000) sends a message to the government to start acting before it is too late.

    • It was, honestly, it was. What a great time! Such nice people, such patience, such sincerity! I am so lucky that my wife wanted to go and dragged me along!

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful post! It’s so encouraging to see such a response to the march. “How could we be this Stupid!” is a good one. People also need to make some sacrifices, like taking public transportation more, set the temperature low or high to save energy…. Great messages there! Love, love these photos. Happy weekend, John!

    • You are very welcome! It truly was my pleasure. There were some great slogans in fact: “World Human Foundation” as a parody on the World Wildlife Foundation, “There is no planet b!” was another. “To change everything we need everyone!” “Defend our mother!” “It’s not warming, it’s dying.” “We are in for a crude awakening!”

      The human imagination is amazing!

  2. oh yes, john, i enjoyed them all.
    you did a great job here, i am one happy virtual attendee soaking in the atmosphere, colours and personalities.
    my favourite is the one of the kids below the painted tarpaulin.
    have a good weekend.

    • Thank you! I have to admit, getting under that tarp was a rush. In fact, it acts like a bellows…pulling in air on the uprush, blowing it out on the downpush..it was a neat experience and the kids (and the photographer) were having a ball with it! I think they could have made it into a paid attraction! 🙂

      The best part about it was the people holding it…the were really nice and wanted to help me get the best picture possible. I had run out of cards by then, so I hope they google and find the site.

    • Thank you Kenn, very much! That was sort of what I was trying to do and there truly were some nice people there.

      So sorry you weren’t able to be there for the whole thing. I kept a look out for you the whole time and was sure I would see you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

