Alexander Lake

IMG_5935_6_7_8_9

 

Alexander Lake is a small, beautiful lake in Dayville, Connecticut which is ringed by small cottages and homes. I was actually scouting there for a place to take sunset pictures (which I got around to taking and will be posted later) when on one marshy end I spotted this location. I quickly pulled over and took a few shots and these are the result.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_5902_3_4_5_6

IMG_5912_3_4_5_6

IMG_5917_18_19_20_21

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

17 thoughts on “Alexander Lake

  1. Beautiful! Btw, do you have your gravatar linked to your blog URL? When I clicked you gravatar, it took me no where. I had to search it through Google.

    • Thank you! I put in a special order for those sugar puff clouds, you know. The marshmallow clouds were on sale, but for me, it’s always sugar puff or go home.

      Actually, all kidding aside, that’s a nice way of describing them! I’ll use that again some day. 🙂

    • Thank you! There was only those few shots and that one corner, but it was fun to take them. I have a set of photos coming soon (I hope) of Alexander Lake at sunset…they were pretty too. If only I wasn’t so lazy…

    • Linda, to be honest I could have driven by that spot a thousand times and missed it. That day I was lucky enough to have some time and my head turned in the right way. But, then again, I do not ‘expect’ luck so much as I utterly depend on it! 🙂

    • Thank you! It was a hot, late summer afternoon (the Labor Day weekend, I recall) and just one of those perfect days where it was hot but not too so, low humidity…when life was good. 🙂

    • Thank you, Cindy! It was a lot of fun that day…to be honest I had no idea what the place was like. It seems just to invite good photographs…they’re all over the place, just point your camera and pick one up! Luckily, it was really easy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

