Eastern Point Beach

IMG_5747_48_49_50_51

 

Easter Point Beach Park is a small park with an exquisite western view over the Thames River estuary as it flows between the cities of New London and Groton, in my home state of Connecticut, before it flows into the Long Island Sound.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_5376_77_78_79_80

IMG_5396_397_398_399_400

IMG_5416_17_18_19_20

IMG_5421_2_3_4_5

IMG_5436_37_38_39_40

IMG_5456_57_58_59_60

IMG_5472_3_4_5_6

IMG_5527_28_29_30_31

IMG_5582_3_4_5_6

IMG_5632_3_4_5_6

IMG_5657_58_59_60_61

IMG_5672_3_4_5_6

IMG_5677_78_79_80_81

IMG_5862_3_4_5_6

IMG_5877_78_79_80_81

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

23 thoughts on “Eastern Point Beach

    • Thank you! Yes, that sailboat was quite a treat, wasn’t it?! It was moving so fast I wasn’t sure I could capture it right and in fact, there may be the ghost image of the sail at the trialing edge. Still, it works and that’s all that counts! 🙂

    • When that color was coming out I wanted to build an alter and start sacrificing small furry things to the photo gods begging them to allow me to capture that scene. (Luckily, I didn’t…I had no time because it was so brief.) I couldn’t believe how gorgeous it was! I kept hitting the trigger over and over. These are just a few of them.

      And yes, you are correct. African soil is reddish (high iron content? copper? I don’t know) and that with a setting or rising sun makes for gorgeous images. If I have it correctly, as the sun goes down (or comes up) its light has to travel through more atmosphere because of the extreme angle. This extra light passage drains some of the blue out of the light giving it a golden, and for a brief time, reddish, hue.

      Anyway, those are the best two times to take pictures…that I know!

    • That is so sweet of you to say! But it is true, isn’t it?! That a picture can bring you there for a brief moment, out of the space and time you are in, into the one where it was taken. I had never thought of that. There’s a poem in that… 🙂

    • Well thank you, but if anything I believe I’m lucky, and if not lucky at least methodical: get there at the right time, use the correct lens, point in the right general direction, take lots and lots of pictures and let nature and Mr. Canon do the rest. It’s not all that hard really. Oh, and use HDR. I took a friend out Sunday and we did some shooting together and I showed him how to do HDR. He was blown away at the results and like I said…dude, it wasn’t me…you took the shots!

Leave a Reply

