Chapel View

IMG_4227_28_29_30_31

 

Chapel View is a commercial developmentt project that is and has been on-going in Cranston, Rhode Island (where I work) for over the last ten years. Located where the state used to have several boarding schools for delinquent children (the shells of these older buildings are incorporated into the development) the center-piece of the project was the rehabilitation and extension of the old chapel on the hill into a trendy 5-star restaurant. This chapel was built using stone from the fields it is built on, and this legacy continues: all the stone walls that are in and surround the complex are also built from this same material.

Recently, Lyn wanted to go shopping in the area and like every good husband who is invited along on such adventures, I begged off to do something (anything!) else. For me it was take photos.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_4212_3_4_5_6

 

I could make some claim to trying to be very artistic with this shot, but the truth is proof of the rule: never move your camera in the middle of a long shot, even one you didn’t know you were taking.

IMG_4222_3_4_5_6

IMG_4262_3_4_5_6

IMG_4242_3_4_5_6

IMG_4302

IMG_4307_08_09_10_11

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

18 thoughts on “Chapel View

    • Uh oh! Another REI junkie. Do you too need your monthly ‘fix’?

      At this point they owe me far more than a dividend, they owe me a seat on the board! 🙂

    • Thank you! Me too! But they are hit and miss, I have to get better at them. (You don’t see the failures.) Sometimes they work and sometimes they fail and I cannot tell the why and the when of it. I’ve got to do more and figure it out…

        • Actually, I am thinking it is the slight instability of the tripod. So now I try to remove the strap (catches the wind) and hang my camera bag on the little hook beneath it. I also just bought a canvas thing that attaches to all the legs and you can pile rocks on it to steady it even more. Maybe that will help. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! You are always so kind and generous with your comments! It was a fun night and I was pleased with the results, especially since at the time I was not sure at all if I was capturing them correctly. So, live and learn, as they say! 🙂 (Plus, you don’t get to see the many, many shots that were awful!)

    • Thank you so much! It was a fun evening (certainly better than shopping!) and I was glad to grab the photos when I did. And a nice dinner afterwards, too! 🙂

    • John, thank you! It’s a neat place and was very ‘magical’ (in a Disney sense) at night. I had a lot of fun getting those shots. Glad it showed!

    • Thank you so much! And I am so glad you like the payout of the blog. I have played with it a bit and tried a few different themes but like this one the most. Please, return often!

Leave a Reply

