Beavertail Park 1

IMG_4507_08_09_10_11

 

There are some magical days when the world conspires to make the conditions perfect for photography. My morning at Beavertail Park was one such day: at dawn, with clear skies and the tide coming in. (In fact, several waves washed over my feet and I almost got myself stranded out on a set of rocks!) It didn’t seem to matter where you pointed your camera…there was a beautiful scene there just waiting to be captured.

I apologize that this series of pictures is so long. Moreover, there will be one other set and then a third, where some fisheye shots are compared to their straightened counterparts. But honestly, I could post this many again; we had a devil of a time whittling the list down to these.

As to special photography days like this, my motto is now: Luck—don’t hope for it, count on it!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_4536_37_38_39_40

IMG_4568_69_70_71_72

IMG_4583_4_5_6_7

IMG_4603_4_5_6_7

IMG_4618_19_20_21_22

IMG_4638_39_40_41_42

IMG_4670_1_2_3_4

IMG_4695_6_7_8_9

IMG_4710_1_2_3_4

IMG_4733_4_5_6_7

IMG_4738_39_40_41_42

IMG_4763_4_5_6_7

IMG_4798_799_800_801_802

IMG_4845

IMG_4894_5_6_7_8

IMG_4914_5_6_7_8

IMG_4974_5_6_7_8

IMG_4979_80_81_82_83

 

At the very tip of the point, occasionally, a large, rising wave crest swelling from the left would meet an equally large rising wave crest swelling from the right, the crash between the two creating this unique wave spout.

IMG_5039_40_41_42_43

IMG_5059_60_61_62_63

IMG_5269_70_71_72_73
IMG_5354_5_6_7_8

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

50 thoughts on “Beavertail Park 1

    • Thank you so much! This was one of those perfect, magical days that no matter where the camera was looking, it took a great photo. I was very, very lucky to be there then!

  1. Getting up at 4am ….. Ugh!
    But some things are worth losing sleep over ……
    Look at the Magic you captured!!!
    (something no one else was there to witness)
    But through your desire and skill John, you have taken all of us there,
    and now, we too have the Joy of witnessing this Extraordinary Beauty!!!

    • Yeah, 4 AM was a bother and I have to admit that going to bed that night was a wonderful treat. As to no one else being there to witness, to be honest, there were about a half dozen cameras roaming around that morning, I kid you not! Part of me wants to know what their pictures are like and part of me says that ‘ignorance is bliss’! 🙂

    • Pete, Thank you! These shots were magical in the taking, and to be honest, more luck than skill on my part. Mr. Canon does all the hard part. 🙂

  2. breath taking shots…I love the one where the spray is in the air …wow wow wow…you just made my day and all I had to do was sit and sip my tea and watch the pictures come alive

    • That is very kind of you to say and I am very glad that you enjoyed the pictures! It was a really amazing day…honestly it was like I could point the camera anywhere and get a memorable shot. I was very, very lucky that day.

    • No, I’ve not done sunset at Beavertail…yet! 🙂 Soon, I hope. 🙂

      For this shoot I was up at 4 AM as I had a 90 minute drive and even then I should have been there 15 minutes earlier. But you are correct that it is easier in the fall when the time is later but the cold not numbing like it is in January.

      When you say, ‘see you there’ do you mean at Beavertail Park, as in you are also close, or as in ‘I too will be sharing the dawn time.’

    • And I owe it all to you when you showed me that first HDR picture you took and my jaw hit the floor! I really hope that soon we can do a photo shoot together. Fall is coming and I have GOT to free up some time then for going out to photography shoots with friends! So much to talk about…

    • I hope you have a chance to. And if you do, try to ensure that you arrive 30 minutes before dawn as the surf is coming in. It is magical!

    • John, very well said! As I drove up into the parking lot, the sound of the surf was so loud that at first I was intimidated. It was so LOUD. But in a few minutes I realized that it was the most invigorating thing in the world.

    • Ah, another New Englander, I see! You know the area well, and you are correct, not a picturesque lighthouse up close. But those waves! Wow!

      How close are you to Rhode Island?

        • In CT?!? Me too, in Putnam, up by the Massachusetts and Rhode Island borders. There are a number of photography clubs in the area organized by meetup.com. Do you belong to any? I have shots coming up from many places you probably know…Eastpoint Beach and Harkness Memorial Park for two.

            • Absolutely! Just don’t make it the Columbus Day weekend (Oct10-13) as we are going to be in Acadia National Park stalking the wily and cunning fall foliage to see if we can catch it in action.

              • I have a wedding that weekend anyway. 🙂 Might be the weekend after…We will see how it goes. I have a photo friend coming out from Cali and I thought a photo walk might be nice while he was here!

                • Excellent! I will do my best to make it and can invite other photographers too if you don’t mind thousands and thousands (meaning up to 7) tagging along.

Leave a Reply

