Martha’s Vineyard – by the water

This post is one of a series on Martha’s Vineyard, an island off the coast of Massachusetts made famous by its early settlement and long history, its wonderful beaches, and for its long being the playground of the rich and famous.

The entire series of photographs comprise five postings: 1) gingerbread cottages, 2) villages, 3) beaches, 4) by the water, and, 5) Gay Head point. The ‘Like’ button is only on the first set; that way you are free to enjoy the pictures at your leisure but will not need to keep coming back to ‘like’ them one over the other.

By the water

Being an island settled by an ocean going people—not to mention that the easiest access there is by one of the many ferry boats that travel the island— the ocean plays an important part in the life of Martha’s Vineyard.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

IMG_3302

IMG_3326_27_28_29_30

IMG_3754

IMG_3759_60_61_62_63

IMG_3779_80_81_82_83

IMG_3784_5_6_7_8

IMG_3804_5_6_7_8

IMG_3814_5_6_7_8

IMG_3829_30_31_32_33

IMG_3844_5_6_7_8

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

31 thoughts on “Martha’s Vineyard – by the water

    • That is incredibly kind of you and I very much appreciate your taking the time to visit and leave such a wonderful comment! (Thank heavens you cannot see me blush!) I started the blog as a place merely to store my photos so that I could share them with family and a few friends. I am both amazed and pleased that they have found favor with others and that I am developing a whole network of friends around them. That is the nicest and most un-looked for benefit about the site. So please, drop by as often as you can! 🙂

    • Is there any chance we are related? 🙂 We both seem to love photographing the same odd things. I saw dozens of people walk by these things without a glance, and yet I could feel their age call to me.

    • Oops, you’re correct…I have to be more aware that not everyone on the Internet is from the United States! 🙂 And as to Australia, now I am very, very jealous…I have always wanted to go there and spend a few months travelling around. It is so, so beautiful there. I hope, someday…

    • Absolutely! That whale tail coming out of the grass was a hoot! Those anchors were, by the way real…and were once used on fishing schooners.

    • Priya, you are very welcome dear, and thank you for the lovely and generous comment from someone whose photography skills I greatly admire!

    • And thank you, dear, for dropping by! To be honest, New England is gorgeous…I just wish I spent so much time complaining about the weather: too hot and muggy in the summer (when it’s not, not really, there’s worse), too cold in the winter (not really, I’ve lived in worse), too much snow (but that makes it great for skiing), too much rain (which is why it’s so green)…in fact, photography has reminded me how wonderful an area this part of the world is. 🙂

    • But well worth the visit if ever you can make it there. *Personally*, while everyone loves it in the summer, and it is great then, I want to go back in the late fall when the cold winds and storms come to whip up the waves and the beaches are empty. I think it would be almost as interesting then as now.

Leave a Reply

