Only light

This series of photos grew out of an article I read which basically said: there is no such thing as ‘good light’ or ‘bad light’ for photography, there is only light. Yes, it may be easier to take photographs on bright sunny days with dramatic clouds moving across a dark blue sky, but on dull gray days there are plenty of pictures to be had too. I decided that if I was going to try and be a better photographer, it was a lesson I would have to practice repeatedly.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_2490

IMG_2498

IMG_2502

IMG_2509

IMG_2510

IMG_2512

IMG_2514

IMG_2519

IMG_2520

IMG_2529

IMG_2532

IMG_2533

IMG_2536

IMG_2537

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

20 thoughts on “Only light

    • Exactly! It’s a habit that I have to break, and I think only pushing the boundary (and myself) will help. It’s that myself part that’s hard! 😉

    • Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I must have a hundred pictures of brick walls and none were exactly as I wanted until this one. It is good to know there is at least one other person out there who can appreciate a well made brick wall! 🙂 Actually, all joking aside, they are a great lesson in depth of field, framing and bokeh!

        • Bokeh is the artistic quality added to a photography by the degree of blur. Some people think it is the amount of blur, but that is not quite right. It is the added quality of the shot because some portion is blurred and thus forces your eyes to the focus of the shot. Usually the part that is out of focus is the background, but not always. Sometimes it is something nearest to the camera and I have even seen shots where the entire picture is blurred a bit and the effect was to enhance the artistic value of the whole thing. I give a longer explanation in my About page, if you are interested for more on the topic.

  1. Your post really shows the importance of being able to work with less-than-optimal lighting. When I travel, I have to accept that cannot be everywhere at the right time of day or in good weather. It seems you found plenty of good subjects to shoot in overcast conditions. Very nice work and thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thank you! I have to say that it really challenged me too. I took a lot of shots that day and learned a lot…the two best rules of which were: 1) get in close, and 2) you can always make landscape photos on a cloudy day, B&W!

  2. As Always, a series of Wonderful photos John! I especially like the color, texture and dynamic perspective in the “brick” photo! I also found the photos of the “window reflections” to be very, very interesting in composition! I am learning so much from viewing your creative work!

Leave a Reply

