Sunflowers 1

It’s that time of the year again! Buttonwood Farm in Moosup, CT, annually plants over 10 acres of sunflowers for re-sale as bouquets with 100% of the profits going to the Connecticut Make A Wish Foundation. Harvest week is a draw for miles around with kiddie ride, hay wagon rides, hot dogs, ice cream and of course, photographers thicker than the bees. This is the first of two posts, the second (which will come in a day or two, maybe three?) will be very much like this one, but let’s face it: can you every have too many sunflower pictures?

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_1549

IMG_1568

IMG_1582

IMG_1591

IMG_1604

IMG_1607

IMG_2087_88_89_90_91

IMG_2112_3_4_5_6

IMG_2137_38_39_40_41

IMG_2162_3_4_5_6

IMG_2173

IMG_2197_198_199_200_201

IMG_2212_3_4_5_6

IMG_2242_3_4_5_6

IMG_2247_48_49_50_51

IMG_2317_18_19_20_21

IMG_2347_48_49_50_51

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

24 thoughts on “Sunflowers 1

  1. Haha “She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men”! It is a great photo selection and I think that self-deprecation is probably a good sign about the photographer himself 😛

    Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth, have you ever seen the old British comedy, “Rumple at the Bailey”? It’s a wonderful comedy about an old crusty lawyer in England, who refers to his wife as “She Who Must Be Obeyed.” Anyway, that title was given to my wife, by my best friend, as he spoke during our wedding. By my best friend!! He had the whole wedding party in stitches because not only was it funny, it was true.

      • I have heard of Rumple, my dad likes him! I haven’t seen it myself but this can be easily corrected 🙂 And what a title to get at one’s wedding! That’s hilarious

    • Thank you so much, you are very kind! The one surprise I had was that the story of sunflowers as a field following the sun is apparently a myth. No matter which side of the field I went I could not get them all facing the same direction! Either that or I just got there later in the evening. In any event I have a great story! At least they cooperated by standing there looking beautiful!

    • You are very kind and generous and I will pass your compliment on to Lyn. I fear that she needs some support as I think she is getting very, very tired of my constantly asking her for her help. But what can I say? She has all the artistic taste in the family!

    • Thank you, they are, aren’t they? I especially like the little drops of moisture (nectar?) that you can see in some of the close up photos, delicately clinging to the center of the flower. And the colors were amazing!

    • Today it is raining like it’s a monsoon…but to be honest, we have been so long without any rain that it is a great relief! On that day, the sun was shining, gloriously! Thank heavens I was lucky to be able to get there, then. I hope you have days like this soon!

    • Thank you very much, you are very kind! Luckily for me, the sunflowers did all the hard work by looking so beautiful…all I did was click a button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

