Boston – water everywhere walking tour 1

The Mid Connecticut Photography Meetup group had organized a 4 mile (or so) walking tour of Boston, with a route that would take the group through several historic and important parts of the city, as well as along the Charles River. This post, as well as the next posting will cover that excursion.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. As always, special thanks to my dearest Lyn, She Of Great Taste In All Things But Men, who does most of the photo selection. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_0023

IMG_0083

 

These guys were neat; they were practicing a coordinated dance step in front of the church doors and filming themselves. After each practice they would dash to the steps, go through the video, make changes and try again.

IMG_0108

IMG_0132_3_4

IMG_0171_2_3

IMG_0180_1_2

IMG_0186

IMG_0226

IMG_0244

IMG_0263_4_5

IMG_0308_09_10

IMG_0374_5_6

IMG_0392

 

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

17 thoughts on “Boston – water everywhere walking tour 1

    • I know. I was, at first, reluctant to be photographing children in public…but I thought as long as I obscured them enough and made the story about the fun of playing in the water, it would be all right. I know, I got very, very lucky with the photos.

    • Thank you Matt! I very much appreciate the compliment. Hopefully (maybe) we’ll see each other at Buttonwood Farm this weekend.

    • Elizabeth,

      Wasn’t I just amazingly lucky on that one?!? There were, at least four of us from that photo group all shooting at the same time in that same area and I was the only one to see it and grab it. In fact I had taken a nice shot of that couple, had turned away for several others, and then turned back and was shocked to see that while the young lady had been sitting quietly talking a few seconds ago, now she was doing the free soul thing in the tree.

      I also really like the one of the couple in the hammock…another unguarded catch.

      Glad to see you back, by the way!

      • That sounds like such a pleasant day, walking around and taking photographs! I’m glad she did it, its the kind of thing I am often tempted to do, but I’m usually too embarrassed

        I’m glad to be back, and even gladder that I can finally see the end of my thesis coming up!

        Elizabeth

        • It was a fun day, and even better than the photos was getting to meet and know other people in the club.

          Glad to hear you are finally seeing the end of that brute! Keep at it, stab it with your steely pen (poke it with your stubby keys?) and put it in its grave. What is it on?

          • Stubby keys, in this case 🙂 I work in a data centre under a library, on their computers, because its basically a bunker and I’m not allowed any electronics of my own.

            I’m using census data to look at trends in the number of children per family in Canada over the past 25 years, breaking things down by the mother’s traits. It seems that women with BAs have the most children!

    • I had to shoot a fast speed to grab the shot when the faces of the children were away from the camera. (I did not want them identifiable.) In the next series there is one of this fountain which is a long exposure and that lets the water merge and become ‘silky.’ Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

