May farm sunset – 1

I apologize that I have not posted much lately. I am, in fact, doing a fair amount of photography, but the time to do the photo choosing, post processing, storing the files, backing them up, etc., has been eluding me. Hopefully this week I can get more back on track.

One evening in May I went scouting for a photography site and found a farm on a road that I have cycled dozens and dozens of times, but had never noticed the farm before. Wow, was I missing a treat! These photos were all taken in the “golden hour” before sunset…and a few even beyond that. This series will be followed tomorrow by a second and final series from this shoot.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

IMG_5084

IMG_5093

IMG_5102

IMG_5114

IMG_5115

IMG_5125

IMG_5137

IMG_5173_4_5

IMG_5194

IMG_5209_10_11

IMG_5239_40_41

IMG_5283_4_5

IMG_5292_3_4

IMG_5304_5_6

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

8 thoughts on “May farm sunset – 1

  1. They said the best time to photograph is before the full sun comes out in the morning and just before the sun sets. These are just exquisite but I don’t think I’ll be using any of those equipments you guys are talking about.

    • You may hear photographers joke about being afflicted with the disease of GAS. This does not mean foul air rudely passed in close quarters (well, usually anyway) but instead stands for Gear Acquisition Syndrome, meaning that no mater how much you have, much wants more. It is one of the reasons that I go to minimalist photography sites…where folks use only phones (and especially iPhones) or simpler point and shoot cameras to take amazing photographs. While gear can be fun, nothing in photography beats training your eye, learning solid techniques and using your imagination. Nothing!

      By the way, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for turning me on to the Broken Light photography site! What a find. I’ll be re-blogging their work quite a bit in the future. What a wonderful project!

    • Thank you…but that is *so* the magic of the Golden Hour. Most of the shots were taken with a new 11-16mm wide angle lens I have, so I am still learning to frame with it. The last 3 pictures of the lake were actually taken after sunset and required 10 second exposures. By then I decided it was time to go home…and plan for the sunrise shots the next day. Eventually I will get around to posting those in a “May Farm Sunrise” series of pictures.

        • The Tokina is the exact one I have! It has taken me a while to get used to it, and I am still learning…mostly because you have to be so close to an object to frame it either bit ‘normally.’ For a zoom it is very sharp. The down side is that it is HEAVY and uses 72mm filters. This last weekend my wife and I went water falls hunting and lugging the Tokina (and the tripod!) in and out on the hiking trails was ‘fun.’ But the ‘silky water’ shots were worth the effort and this lens was a joy to use in that setting! No, I do not think you’ll be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

