Blue skys, 04/2014

This is a whole series of High Dynamic Range (HDR) photographs. HDR combines a trio of over, normal and under exposed photographs to get one image which has the best light and full color of the entire scene. I hope you enjoy these, all taken at evening on Freedley Rd, one of my favorite bicycle paths from Putnam to Pomfret in Connecticut.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Evening - Pomfret, CT

Evening – Pomfret, CT

Waving - Pomfret, CT

Waving – Pomfret, CT

Standing together- Pomfret, CT

Standing together- Pomfret, CT

Radiance- Pomfret, CT

Radiance- Pomfret, CT

Two ways- Pomfret, CT

Two ways- Pomfret, CT

The line- Pomfret, CT

The line- Pomfret, CT

Down there - Pomfret, CT

Down there – Pomfret, CT

Down there again - Pomfret, CT

Down there again – Pomfret, CT

Sky - Pomfret, CT

Sky – Pomfret, CT

Sky 2 - Pomfret, CT

Sky 2 – Pomfret, CT

Sky last- Pomfret, CT

Sky last- Pomfret, CT

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

7 thoughts on “Blue skys, 04/2014

    • Absolutely! In fact, that was the image my eye saw and so I screeched the truck to a halt ( I was en route elsewhere) and ran back to get it. But I knew that the camera wasn’t getting it because of how it processes light. I had read about HDR and decided to start talking the prep shots and to buy the software. Am I ever glad I did!

        • To be honest, anybody who shoots as many pictures as me probably would get as many nice shots. But photography is fun…I urge you to take it up if (like me) you are looking for another time consuming, obsessive and expensive hobby.

          All joking aside…it is fun to do and there are tons of self-learning material on the web. I could share a dozen PDF books alone. And you don’t need an expensive camera. The iPhone especially has a good little camera in it…there are many blogs dedicated to photos from just this one camera.

          • I should probably stick to cheap and non-time-consuming things, but my dad has been getting more and more into photography and I can see myself doing so when I am his age 🙂

            Maybe cameras will literally be a dime a dozen by then!

Leave a Reply

