Junkyard – Grosvenordale, CT

I went out one day to try and get some sunset photos, but it had clouded over. Then I noticed this junkyard that was behind a grove of trees that I must have passed a hundred times prior, without seeing it. All was not lost…

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Seen belter days - Grosvenordale, CT

Seen belter days – Grosvenordale, CT

No more harvesting anything now - Grosvenordale, CT

No more harvesting anything now – Grosvenordale, CT

Caught - Grosvenordale, CT

Caught – Grosvenordale, CT

Old and new - Grosvenordale, CT

Old and new – Grosvenordale, CT

Baby you can drive my truck - Grosvenordale, CT

Baby you can drive my truck – Grosvenordale, CT

More multinational, really - Grosvenordale, CT

More multinational, really – Grosvenordale, CT

Yes, but for what? - Grosvenordale, CT

Yes, but for what? – Grosvenordale, CT

Wheel be there shortly - Grosvenordale, CT

Wheel be there shortly – Grosvenordale, CT

Buckets, and buckets and buckets - Grosvenordale, CT

Buckets, and buckets and buckets – Grosvenordale, CT

Like, whatever - Grosvenordale, CT

Like, whatever – Grosvenordale, CT

Lumbering along - Grosvenordale, CT

Lumbering along – Grosvenordale, CT

Arthritis - Grosvenordale, CT

Arthritis – Grosvenordale, CT

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

12 thoughts on “Junkyard – Grosvenordale, CT

    • I know! Isn’t it?! When my wife looked at the pictures I think she found it hard to work up any enthusiasm for them because they are just ‘junk.’ Now she points out rusty old things to me with the air of an indulgent parent accepting the quirks of an odd child. And yet, every other photographer I know “gets it.” It’s funny in a way.

    • In the end so was I. It confirms what one of my favorite photographers had to say, that anytime is always a good time to take a photograph. Learn to understand the light, learn to look around, learn to see…there is a photograph close to you waiting to be taken. Thank you for dropping by!

    • I agree absolutely! There is something about the idea of something being left to decay that was once valued and needed. Did you also check out my Bodie posts? About the real ghost town in California? That was wicked fun!

Leave a Reply

