Fisheye

A friend very kindly lent me a ‘fisheye’ lens for the weekend. This type of lens, which brings more space into the picture, also distorts the image and is an interesting effect, although a little disconcerting at first.

The last five pictures taken along the Quinebaug River in Putnam are, along with being taken with a fisheye lens, High Dynamic Range (HDR) images. Cameras typically have problems taking pictures were parts of the scene are very dark and parts are very bright; it cannot decide which area to properly expose. HDR is a process where the camera takes three pictures of the same scene almost simultaneously: one is midrange, one is underexposed to capture the bright area properly and the third is overexposed to capture the dark area properly. Software is then used to merge the best portions of each image into one, final photograph.

By the way, if you every take photographs with a fisheye along a river, be careful. Because the lens makes everything seem far away (to squeeze it all in) I nearly fell in twice. No joke!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Weeping bush - Cranston, RI

Weeping bush – Cranston, RI

Mighty - Cranston, RI

Mighty – Cranston, RI

In the breeze - Cranston, RI

In the breeze – Cranston, RI

Woven - Cranston, RI

Woven – Cranston, RI

Mockingly - Cranston, RI

Mockingly – Cranston, RI

Tall - Cranston, RI

Tall – Cranston, RI

Time flows - Putnam, RI

Time flows – Putnam, RI

Feely - Putnam, RI

Feely – Putnam, RI

Web - Putnam, RI

Web – Putnam, RI

Van Gogh was here - Putnam, RI

Van Gogh was here – Putnam, RI

Touchy - Putnam, RI

Touchy – Putnam, RI

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

12 thoughts on “Fisheye

    • Neat huh? And now they are all gone in some misguided gardening plan. The amazing thing about ALL spring shots is how transitory they are. You cannot go back to this shot, or any of the other spring ones and get the same shot. Obviously the blossoms go, but even the first buds of spring lose that delicate small size and that perfect light green color…more than at any other time of the year, it all changes so, so quickly…

      • This was someone’s garden, and they took them away? I’m hot and cold on spring, because of the pretty and transitory things you mention, but also mud -.-

        Elizabeth

    • Actually, to be honest, these were taken with the cheapest fish eye lens made, I think. It’s a Rokinon (approx. $200) and is manual for both the aperture and focus. When I used it I put it on an f-stop of 4 and roughly guessed the distance…it’s depth of field is so large that it is very, very forgiving. I had at first had my eye on one that was $500 used and am glad now that I borrowed this one. Certainly for the amount I will be using one…they’re fun in bright sunlight on occasion…that is what I will eventually buy for myself. But absolutely try one…they are great fun. And thank you very much for dropping by!

    • Well said! They are a little strange aren’t they? I would look into the camera expecting to see what I would normally see through a lens but instead the scene would seem like it was miles away. So I kept inching forward, trying to “rein” it in…that is how I almost fell into the river…twice!

    • Stephanie, thank you for the follow! They are fun to play with. The one I borrowed was a cheap ($200 or so) one made by Rokinon…manual aperture, manual focus. However, wide angles are notoriously forgiving on focus and I did not find any problem using it that way and loved it. Certainly for me, for the amount of times I’ll use one, this lower end model will do over the big bucks autofocus lenses. One thing I realized is why there is so often sun flare in fisheye images…the field of view is so large it is almost impossible to cut the sun out!

      Thank you for dropping by…I’ll be returning the favor as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

