To springdom come 1

The two most recent posts were of a day trip my wife and I had on Hope St. in Providence, Rhode Island. These are the links: Hope St 1 and Hope St 2.  On that same excursion I managed to get several shots of the wonderful first blooms of spring. After the long and bitterly cold winter we have had, they were particularly welcomed! I hope you enjoy them. More flower pictures from this day are also at To springdom come 2.

The blue flowers, by the way, we have identified as “blue squills” a plant indigenous to southern Russia and the Ukraine. They are stunning in bright patches.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

New growth - Hope St., Providence, RI

New growth – Hope St., Providence, RI

Old man willow awakens - Hope St., Providence, RI

Old man willow awakens – Hope St., Providence, RI

Bursting - Hope St., Providence, RI

Bursting – Hope St., Providence, RI

Me! Me! Me! Me! Me! - Hope St., Providence, RI

Me! Me! Me! Me! Me! – Hope St., Providence, RI

Blue boys - Hope St., Providence, RI

Blue boys – Hope St., Providence, RI

More blue boys - Hope St., Providence, RI

More blue boys – Hope St., Providence, RI

Benched for the spring - Hope St., Providence, RI

Benched for the spring – Hope St., Providence, RI

Flag wavers are everywhere - Hope St., Providence, RI

Flag wavers are everywhere – Hope St., Providence, RI

Toto, I don't think we're in Holland anymore  - Hope St., Providence, RI

Toto, I don’t think we’re in Holland anymore – Hope St., Providence, RI

Tires, so tired  - Hope St., Providence, RI

Tires, so tired – Hope St., Providence, RI

I got dem ole Rhode Island purples  - Hope St., Providence, RI

I got dem ole Rhode Island purples – Hope St., Providence, RI

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

8 thoughts on “To springdom come 1

    • Thank you so much! That is very kind of you and thank you for dropping by. I very much enjoyed your site and am looking forward to more shots, especially such wonderful ones of hummingbirds. Great bokeh! I also noticed that you have some pictures of Chihuly’s works…I have some too but alas they were taken with a phone camera. I have only ever posted one, here at Miscellaneous 2.

    • Thank you seeker! And I agree…I have so much missed the sunshine and the heat. Spring, with its promise of rebirth, is my favorite time of the year!

Leave a Reply

